Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Popfile and Domain 53 (Thunderbird 2.0.0.9)

    I recently installed Popfile as a replacement for k9. I was having problem with k9 sometimes crashing. Popfile seems to be running OK but occasionally I get a warning from my Sygate Firewall about either popfile or Thunderbird trying to connect to [192.168.1.1] using remote port 53. I've attached an example. If I deny access to the network Thunderbird is still able to download messages. Can anyone please explain what is going on? My understanding of networking is very limited. My wife and I have two computers that are connected to the same router but if we want to share files we use a flash memory stick. My worry is that the router we both use to connect out is not set up correctly or it is missing some information.

    Thanks,

    Chris (Hunt)
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts

    Re: Popfile and Domain 53 (Thunderbird 2.0.0.9)

    You ought to post the question on the Popfile - Help forum. The developers monitor those forums and are generally very helpful.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Popfile and Domain 53 (Thunderbird 2.0.0.9)

    Thanks for the suggestion, Joe. I was hoping that someone here might have some idea. That would save having to join yet another group and remember another password. I've looked at the sourceforge forum before and never found it convenient to use.

    Best wishes,

    Chris

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Popfile and Domain 53 (Thunderbird 2.0.0.9)

    I've never used Popfile so I don't know what it's doing or why, but it looks like your ROUTER address. If Popfile, for whatever reasons, is using your router to get to the internet, I would think you might have to tell Sygate that it's OK. The attached is a sample screen from my Zone Alarm and it's been awhile since I used Sygate - I no longer remember where you would go to do this "setup."
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Popfile and Domain 53 (Thunderbird 2.0.0.9)

    Thanks for the reply, Big Al. Is that a custom rule you added for Zone Alarm?

    Chris

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Popfile and Domain 53 (Thunderbird 2.0.0.9)

    In ZA they're on the Trusted Zones tab. It DOES seem to me there was something like that I had to do with Sygate but I can't remember. Let's search The Lounge to see if I asked a question... <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Popfile and Domain 53 (Thunderbird 2.0.0.9)

    Here ya go, Chris. Back in this thread <post#=384,741>post 384,741</post#> , <!profile=wyllywylly>wyllywylly<!/profile> was helping me out. If you search you'll get lots of hits here on 'sygate'.

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Popfile and Domain 53 (Thunderbird 2.0.0.9)

    Hi, Big Al. just a quick post, to give belated thanks. Sygate is certainly long in the tooth now. Currently, I'm trying out Comodo 3. I'm not sure if I will stick with it or not.

    Best wishes,

    Chris

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •