Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bromley, Kent, United Kingdom
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Printing to tray 2 (2003 SP3)

    I want to write a macro to print two copies of a document but I need to print one copy from tray 1 (we have headed paper in this tray) and one from tray 2 ( we have plain paper in this tray). When I record a macro even if I change the paper tray manually it doesn't record this in the macro so how do I change the tray in my macro?

    Thanks in anticipation.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

    Re: Printing to tray 2 (2003 SP3)

    Welcome to Woody's Lounge!

    Did you select File | Page Setup, Paper tab while recording the macro? This is where you specify the paper tray in Word.

    If that doesn't help, you can try code such as

    ActiveDocument.PageSetup.OtherPagesTray = wdPrinterLowerBin

    But laser printers use other tray numbers than the built-in constants such as wdPrinterLowerBin.

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bromley, Kent, United Kingdom
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing to tray 2 (2003 SP3)

    Yes I did select the paper tab and select one tray the first time I printer and the other the next time but Word didn't seem to record the fact...

    How would I find out which tray number our printer uses. They are named Tray one and tray 2 so would they be numbered 1 and 2?

    Thanks in advance for any extra help you can give.

    Regards

    Terry

  5. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing to tray 2 (2003 SP3)

    Probably not the ideal solution, but one that has worked for me in the past where I had a non-vba application where I needed to change the paper type setup - colour and media - which took more than a few clicks through the printer setup.

    Create a copy of the printer in your Printers and Faxes by installing it as a new printer. Set one printer to default to Tray 1, the other to Tray 2. With your macro, you (simply!) print one copy to one printer and the second to the other.

  6. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Printing to tray 2 (2003 SP3)

    > Yes I did select the paper tab and select one tray the first time I printer and the other the next time but Word didn't seem to record the fact.

    I know this is redundant with Hans's post, but just to be 100% clear: Word will record changes you make in Word's own Page Setup dialog, but it can not "see" any changes you make in the print settings dialog that opens from the Properties button in the Print dialog. You need to change the trays in Page Setup before opening the Print dialog.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •