Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: RPCRT4.DLL

  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    RPCRT4.DLL

    This is showing up as an error on my daughter's WinME:
    Wmiexe....error in RPCRT4.DLL
    Please, need help with this. I checked it in Search>Files/Folders...brings it up, but I don't know what I am supposed to do to correct this error. Need easy instructions.
    Thanx <img src=/S/help.gif border=0 alt=help width=23 height=15> <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RPCRT4.DLL

    Sounds like you've got a corrupt, missing or incorrect file version. Try taking a look at <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.pcwin.com/wintalk/general/messages/3608.html>this post</A> at PCWin.

    You should be able to fix it by installing an Internet Explorer upgrade, or perhaps you could take a slightly easier route and re-run WIndows setup, which will verify and replace any dead files.
    -Mark

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RPCRT4.DLL

    She's got IE 5.5 SP2 now...it started AFTER she d/l SP2. As to Win setup...where would she find this?
    Thx for reply

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RPCRT4.DLL

    Well, well. She could:

    a) <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/showthreaded.pl?Cat=&Board=98&Number=62455&page=&v iew=&sb=&o=&vc=1#Post62455>run the IE repair tool</A>,
    [img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] Remove IE 5.5 SP2,
    c) Shove the WinME CD into the CD-ROM drive and let setup fire itself up.

    Windows setup should auto-run when the CD is inserted. If it doesn't, have her go to Start => Run => Browse and double click on SETUP.EXE.

    Good luck!!
    -Mark

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RPCRT4.DLL

    <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>
    Hmmm...this Mommy will uninstall daughter's SP2 (I uninstalled mine-PIA...couldn't use 'smilies' in email,etc)...I had already tried the repair function <img src=/S/nope.gif border=0 alt=nope width=15 height=15>
    didn't fix it...so maybe going back to SP1 might work...will keep you posted <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RPCRT4.DLL

    Found this at http://www.bits.bris.ac.uk/mxcl/speedtweaks.php

    Exit to DOS and delete WMIEXE.EXE from C:WINDOWSSYSTEM. If you experience the "30 second hour glass syndrome" just after boot up this .EXE is the culprit. You don't need it, it's an NT executable. Delete it because it hides in the background as a service using memory and CPU time.

    Perhaps just rename it to WMIEXE.OLD and see if anything breaks. If that fails try running DCOM98.INF, a hidden file in your Windows/inf dir. (Set explorer to show hidden files, inf.dir will be dimmed)

    Good Luck

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RPCRT4.DLL

    Thanx...you now have me completely confused. Have no idea what you are talking about..I need easy instructions - I don't fiddle around with DOS..ME doesn't have it..Also this is WinME, not Win98..there is no DCOM98.INF in her OS. I think I will just uninstall her SP2.
    Thanx for your suggestions. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RPCRT4.DLL

    Although Lonnie already indicated that he's got no interest in deleting that file, I would caution against it. First off the file version may tell you that it's an NT file, but there are a great many such files in WIndows 98 and ME. Microsoft's efforts at integration have proof here.

    Second, this is a network communication module, so if high-speed internet is involved in any way it could screw up more than it solves.

    Always, always, always make a backup of whatever files you are experimenting with. You never know when it will become a critical issue and you need to restore it.
    -Mark

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RPCRT4.DLL

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29>Lonnie is a she...but that's ok <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    Well, I didn't uninstall anything or delete anything.
    So far, this error hasn't been coming up again either <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    I kept IE 5.5 SP2..just changed the security in restricted from high to medium...otherwise my gifs,etc weren't getting into email.

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RPCRT4.DLL

    Zoinks, my apologies!

    Glad to hear that the error is not coming back - for the time being. If it does, then at least you will have an armload of things to try!
    -Mark

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RPCRT4.DLL

    <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15>Hey...no problem..is an honest mistake. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    I hope it doesn't come back...*knocking on wood*
    I still have no idea why it even showed up <img src=/S/frown.gif border=0 alt=frown width=15 height=15>But then, we are talking about computers <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Thanks for your help. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    PS...it was her computer that had it, but I have same WinME and same cable ISP...soooo, am wondering when and if it will happen to mine <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •