Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    989
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unable to access Display (sp2)

    Oops, I'm unable to access my display properties. I right-click the desktop and choose properties but nothing happens. Trying Display from the Control Panel does nothing either. The Task Manager doesn't list it either. Any ideas ? Thanks, Andy.

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to access Display (sp2)

    And running the Control Panel item from Start | Run: control desk.cpl
    doesn't work?

    For instance Themes tab is: control desk.cpl,,5

    Do you think it's related to changes recently? New drivers, running some old program etc. Do you have another option on right-click at Desktop (some do for their Nvidia Control Panel)?

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    989
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to access Display (sp2)

    I installed more memory recently, although perhaps it is more likely caused by my installing 'Windows Desktop Search'? I was hoping this might me a known problem..
    I tried your RUN option anyway..

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    989
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to access Display (sp2)

    .. no the run option doesn't do anything anyway..

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Unable to access Display (sp2)

    Have you tried uninstalling Windows Desktop Search ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    989
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to access Display (sp2)

    .. I was reluctant to - was hoping it was a known problem. Anyway, have uninstalled and it hasn't resolved issue. I haven't sought Display Properties for an age and have installed/ uninstalled loads in the meantime. Any other ideas.. ? Andy

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Unable to access Display (sp2)

    Andy,

    TRY: ( similar to Argus's suggestion )

    Start/ Run/ - type: %windir%system32desk.cpl
    Click OK

    Does that work?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Unable to access Display (sp2)

    Perhaps this MSKB article will help.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    989
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to access Display (sp2)

    .. no joy, soz.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    989
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to access Display (sp2)

    .. this (script) link is broken.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Unable to access Display (sp2)

    Perhaps Doc meant the first link on the right hand side in #285 on Troubleshooting Windows XP, Tweaks and Fixes for Windows XP.
    Here is a direct link to the .reg file: Restore All Display Tabs.

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    989
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to access Display (sp2)

    Tried this - still no joy. As a (possibly) last resort I assume I could change individual display settings using Registry entries? In particular, does anyone know the key entries to change the screen resolution or to identify the picture to set as wallpaper? Thanks again, Andy.

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Unable to access Display (sp2)

    Look at HKEY_CURRENT_USERControl PanelDesktop (values: Wallpaper and WallpaperStyle) for the desktop wallpaper.
    I don't think you can change screen resolution by changing a registry value - it involves a lot more than just that.

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    989
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to access Display (sp2)

    Tried the 'Restore All..' link - still no joy. Running out of options.. I may be stuck, unable to change my display resolution/ settings if necessary. Not a problem at the moment, but I may need this facility when I attach a Projector..
    Thanks all for the attempts though. Andy.

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Unable to access Display (sp2)

    I'm grabbing at straws with this, but it might be worth a try.

    There is a .vbs script here that will restore missing tabs to the display properties dialogue box. I may also restore your missing dialogue box, but I really don't know. Perhaps this information might pique someone's memory about a fix. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    Edited by Doc to add.... Link Fixed.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •