Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    5 Star Lounger
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Thanks

Non deleting replicas (SP3)

I have a design master Db which has 2 replicas. But in the design master, the dialog that comes up when selecting the menu item Tools | Replication | Synchronize now…, shows 5 members of the replica set not 3. Usually after trying to synchronize the design master with a non-existent replica, the non-existent replica is deleted from the set next time the design master is opened. I have tried this several times but the non-existent replicas aren’t deleted. How do I get rid of them?
    Regards,
    Peter

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Non deleting replicas (SP3)

Check the folder of the nonexistent replicas. Does this folder still exist? If not, you will have to re-create the folder temporarily, then synchronize. This should remove the nonexistent replicas from the set. You can then delete the folder again.

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Thanks Hans. However I don't think so. One of the incorrect references is PETESLAPTOPAccessInsurancMainData.mdb, which I don't think can be created as no drive is shown. The reference should be PETESLAPTOPCAccessInsurancMainData.mdb
    Regards,
    Peter

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

I'm afraid I don't know a solution then. Sorry. Hopefully someone who has more experience with replication will have a suggestion.

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Hans is correct (as usual!). The *folder* for the replica must exist, but the *file* must be non-existent before Access will remove the dead replica. In your case, you must attempt to synchronize with PETESLAPTOPAccessInsurancMainData.mdb, which means that you must have a computer named PETESLAPTOP with a Share named Access, containing a folder named Insuranc. There should *not* be a file within that folder when you attempt to synchronize with it.

You may have been confused by the difference between UNC file names and Drive: filenames.

HTH