Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Adaware Removal Problem

    I am having some difficulty removing Adaware SE. Using it's own unistall option, attempting to remove via Add/Remove Programs or using Unwise.exe in the Adaware folder produces the same Cannot Open Log File error. The log file is in the Adaware folder and I can open it so it's not the file.

    I went to the Adaware forum and found that this is not an uncommon problem and the solutions offered there are poor at best. This inability to remove SE also seems to be associated with a problem installing Adaware 2007 where the install routine gets almost to the end and then gives an error about the Windows Installer being corrupt, aborts the install and backs out. The solutions offered in the forum range from using CCclean to remove all traces of Adaware SE to reinstalling from the original installation file, providing a link to it and advising that you reinstall over the existing version and then remove the program. Then going to a Microsoft site and running the Windows Installer cleanup utility (not supported by MS) and a few other things that are just not worth the effort to remove a simple utility like Adaware. I'd sooner just delet the Adaware folder and leave the orphans in the registry, but would really like to get the whole mess out the door.

    Any advice or suggestions ?? I trust the advice here more than the advice on their forum. Thanks.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adaware Removal Problem

    I guess it's the free version, and thus no added real-time protection etc. running.

    I have no help to offer that I can think of now <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>. When I uninstall or install a program I try to set up good conditions; I disconnect from the Internet, do a little cleaning in the temp folder and last I reboot the PC and let it run idle for a minute or two, before I uninstall or install. Another, most of the time not needed preparation, could be to check if any special requirements for the upgrade, i.e. is it possible to install on top (I avoid it most of the time) etc. But it's seems you have read a bit and also found others. In my case it went OK with the Add and Remove Programs item in CP.

    I know that disconnecting from the net isn't needed , only for firewall and AV programs, but it's part of the above to have as little as possible running in the background.

    If AA doesn't have real-time protection, do you have any other real-time protection running at the time (beside AV)?

    Don't know if it's related to your error messages when trying to update the definitions earlier. Some of us didn't get error messages when they stopped updating the old program, it just didn't find any updates and all seemed normal (if you didn't know that the updates stopped at 31 Dec.)

  4. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Adaware Removal Problem

    Doc,
    Just going by memory ( limited as it is ) since I also removed AdAware, It seems to me there was an AdAdware Services running and I had to disable it first in Admin Tools>Services, then run the uninstall program. It kind of reminded me of Symantec with it's refusal to let go.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Adaware Removal Problem

    Right you are Argus. Free version. Installed in 2004 so who knows what could have gotten damaged in all that time with some of the things I do and the different HD failures and MBR crashes and restoration of images and data restores.

    I run ZoneAlarm, SpySweeper, SpywareBlaster and Avast in real-time & scan with Adaware and Spyware S&D weekly, so I'm not real concerned about anything getting in that I don't want in.

    Thanks for the feedback. I'm going to try booting into Safe Mode and uninstalling there. <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Adaware Removal Problem

    Bob,
    I did a Ctrl-Alt-Delete and there doesn't seem to be any service running related to Adaware. As I said in my reply to Argus, I'm going to try to uninstall in Safe Mode. Thanks for the feedback.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adaware Removal Problem

    Here is the lodown from the horse's mouth:

    ***UNINSTALLING Ad-Aware SE***


    _*Regular uninstall:*_
    Open the Control Panel->Add/Remove programs and uninstall Ad-Aware by
    selecting it in the program list.
    Or you can run unwise.exe in the Ad-Aware installation folder (Crogram
    files****lavasoft**ad-aware )


    _*Manual uninstall:*_
    To perform a manual uninstall, which is not a very difficult procedure.
    Do the following:


    1. Click on "My computer" and navigate to your ****Lavasoft** Ad-Aware
    folder (Crogram files****lavasoft**ad-aware )
    2. Run the file unregaaw.exe (This program removes the entries in the
    registry, it gives no feedback, only a flash).
    3. Delete the entire ad-aware folder
    4. Delete your ****Lavasoft** Ad-Aware link in your start menu (if present)
    5. Delete the Ad-Aware icon(s) from your desktop(if present)
    6. Navigate to Cocuments and Settings[User Name]Application
    Data****Lavasoft** and delete the entire ****Lavasoft** folder.
    7. Empty your trash bin
    8. Reboot.


    Kind Regards,
    Lavasoft Support.


    Alan

  8. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Adaware Removal Problem

    Alan,

    Thanks for taking the time to post those, but I've been there and done that. No joy. Always get the error Can't Open Install Log no matter how I approach the uninstall.

    But persistence prevailed !!! <img src=/S/joy.gif border=0 alt=joy width=23 height=23> I used a utility I've had for awhile and recently updated to v4, Total Uninstall. First used it to monitor an installation over top of the existing one and then used it to uninstall AdAware. Worked a treat as you all are fond of saying and cleaned out the old installation along with the new one. Left behind a little detris (Start menu folder with dead shortcuts and an empty Lavasoft folder in the Programs folder) that I deleted manually.

    Thanks for the input. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  9. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Adaware Removal Problem

    BTW - I think that lowdown is from the other end of the horse. <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  10. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Adaware Removal Problem

    Got it !!! <img src=/S/joy.gif border=0 alt=joy width=23 height=23>

    I used a utility I've had for awhile and recently updated to v4, Total Uninstall. First used it to monitor an installation over top of the existing one and then used it to uninstall AdAware.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Adaware Removal Problem

    I used a utility I've had for awhile and recently updated to v4, Total Uninstall. First used it to monitor an installation over top of the existing one and then used it to uninstall AdAware.

    I'll wait awhile before I attempt to install the new version again and will use Total Uninstall to monitor it..... if and when I do.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  12. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adaware Removal Problem

    Good to here. Understand that Safe Mode didn't change anything. Sometimes one has to use unconventional methods, whatever that may be. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> BTW haven't looked too close, but the installer for AA 2007 seemed different, maybe it is a little more robust for future uninstalls.

    The old Ad-Aware 1.06 had the habit of creating a shortcut and some folders in the Cocuments and SettingsAll UsersApplication DataMicrosoft branch. It added the folders Internet ExplorerQuick Launch, and added a shortcut similar to the one on Desktop.

    Probably supposed to show up in the Quick Launch Bar. But Windows doesn't merge QLB in All Users and User (as it does with Desktop, Start Menu etc), there is not even a IE folder under All Users by default. No harm done and my uninstall took care of it, but odd to add since it didn't work (show in the QLB).

    Thanks for tip about Total Uninstall.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •