Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 49
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Two Computers on the Same DSL Modem

    Since 2002, I use an Ericsson ADSL HM220dp Modem connected via an Ethernet port to my desktop pc. The modem is set up as a router and its installation guide says, "The Ethernet connection, used in conjuction with a hub, allows you to link up multiple computers to a single ADSL Modem HM220dp". The modem also has a USB port so if I wanted to also connect a new laptop to the modem, can I just plug it in the USB port or do I need the aforementioned hub?

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Hooterville, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Two Computers on the Same DSL Modem

    What do you mean by the modem being setup as a router? Does it have more than one ethernet ports?

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Two Computers on the Same DSL Modem

    Hi Giorgio

    Difficult to say really, but the Ericsson site mentions cross over cables, so I have a feeling that USB is not going to work....but I may be wrong <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    Jerry

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Two Computers on the Same DSL Modem

    Thank you Jerry, that link you gave in your post is a treasure trove of info. I guess I just have to buy the laptop and try connecting it to the USB port on the modem and see if it works while the desktop pc is connected to the Ethernet port. Otherwise I'll have to buy a hub; do you have a link to where I can find such hubs and also, in case there might be the need, cross-connect cables as mentioned in the link page?

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Two Computers on the Same DSL Modem

    Hi, just one Ethernet and one USB port; if you open the attached jpg, you'll see the modem operating mode is set to Routed/PPPoA
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Two Computers on the Same DSL Modem

    Hi Giorgio

    If you have access to "The IT Guy" at work see if they can patch you up a cross over cable , sorry I do not know the equivalent term in Italian. I am always being pestered for them otherwise a good PC shop should have a good stock of them.
    Jerry

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Hooterville, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Two Computers on the Same DSL Modem

    If your router is in line between the modem and the puter, then you need another router with multiple ethernet ports to split your enternet connection.

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Two Computers on the Same DSL Modem

    Thanks Jerry, will do that. Does the same advice apply to the hub?

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Two Computers on the Same DSL Modem

    Thank you.
    Another router with multiple ethernet ports to split your ethernet connection=hub, right?

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Two Computers on the Same DSL Modem

    Giorgio

    You could go for a nice 2-Port Ethernet Hub (Example Only) Not a bad price about 15 Euros.

    It appears that from your original question you have to use a hub because if you add the laptop through the USB it will not work as the USB is a slave.
    Jerry

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Two Computers on the Same DSL Modem

    Thank you Jerry,
    That's a famous brand, I'm sure I'll be able to find it in Italy. Too bad the dealer only ships to the UK. I noticed their Fast Checkout doesn't work though, you get the message:
    The remote server returned an error: (400) Bad Request.
    I'll get the laptop first and I'll then try connecting the laptop via USB(never underestimate what slaves can accomplish <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15>). If, as expected, it doesn't work, I'll go buy the hub and cross-over(or cross-connect?)cables.

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Hooterville, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Two Computers on the Same DSL Modem

    IF all you have is one ethernet and one usb port, it will only use one or the other not both.

  13. #13
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Two Computers on the Same DSL Modem

    Yes, but what if you want to use both? I have a young family and we are often on the Internet and sharing the printers etc

    In the link I posted above the question was

    <hr>Can I connect more than one computer to the modem?
    Yes, if you use the Ethernet port. However, you need a hub between the modem and your computers.<hr>

    So you cannot use one or the other
    Jerry

  14. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Hooterville, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Two Computers on the Same DSL Modem

    If your ISP dosen't mind it, get a gateway router.

  15. #15
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Two Computers on the Same DSL Modem

    Can you give me a link to an example? Does a gateway router dispense with the current router plus a hub like I was planning on using? What are the circumstances where an ISP might mind?

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •