Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Export Tables (2003)

    I have a problem with some spreadsheets I am trying to import from Excel to Access. Most of the data in the spreadsheets are data we have downloaded from an Xray gun for testing alloy. The format for these fields is General. If the reading is <0., the reading displays <LOD .This is causing the problem. When the spreadsheet is imported, this data is ignored. Is there a way of telling Access if the reading is <LOD, then put <LOD.

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Export Tables (2003)

    Are you exportting into an existing table? I suspect you are, tho i may be wrong.

    If so impot it into a table where that field is a text field, then append into the desired table after manipulating the appropriate field.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Export Tables (2003)

    I am exporting to an existing table. Know I get an error importing the table, but I don't know what the error is.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Export Tables (2003)

    What is the data type of the field(s) for the readings in the destination table?

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Export Tables (2003)

    When I imported the first spreadsheet, the field was set to Number.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Export Tables (2003)

    If you want the field to be able to handle "<LOD" you must change it to a text field.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Export Tables (2003)

    I've formated the relevant cells to 'Text', and still getting errors. I didn't get these errors until recently when our IT updated Office to Service Pack 3 apparently. I don't know if this has any reflection on what is causing me problems.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Export Tables (2003)

    I have no problems when importing an Excel column with mixed number and text values in Access 2003 SP3. Do you have the latest updates? There were some problems with the initial release of Access 2003 SP3 but as far as I know these have been solved in a later update.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Export Tables (2003)

    I don't know if they're the latest updates or not. It's all done on the main server. I logged on one morning, and got a message that Managed Software Microsoft Office was being removed. I asked them what was going on, and they said everyone was being updated to Service Pack 3. That's when my problems began. Their answer is to look into SQL as an alternative. That doesn't help me much.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Export Tables (2003)

    I've just actually looked at the imported table, and the errors table. One of the columns I had formatted as text in the spreadsheet, has imported as a number.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Export Tables (2003)

    It doesn't help if you format the column as text in Excel. You must format the field as text in the existing table in Access, then import into that table.

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Export Tables (2003)

    Is this true if I import as a new table?

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Export Tables (2003)

    You should *not* import as a new table because you have no control over the data types of the fields.

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Export Tables (2003)

    Because of all the errors, I decided to start again. I cleared all the tables, and tried to import the one single spreadsheet. Surely this shouldn't give me errors!

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Export Tables (2003)

    Er, is that a statement or a question?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •