Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Wireless Network (Vista)

    I'm running a D-Link wireless router at home and finding some peculiarities with my Vista laptop. My husband's XP laptop connects without problem, but mine connects immediately, slowly or not at all. (I'm having trouble seeing a pattern).

    Does anything spring to mind?
    TIA
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Wireless Network (Vista)

    Have you right clicked the "Network" icon in the notification area and selected Network and sharing center?

    Then select the "Customize" on th right side about 1/3 of the way down.
    There you will see a Public and Private settings.

    The private setting are for your HOME or Work use as the Public is for you use when out at the mall or coffee shop.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Wireless Network (Vista)

    I'm going to gallop upstairs and check immediately.
    Tks!
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Wireless Network (Vista)

    What happens after the "Identifying" action is completed, there may be a customize entry then.
    Per your attachment it id a "Public" connection!

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Wireless Network (Vista Business)

    Not seeing the customize option, but right now it can see the network and internet.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: jpg x.jpg (46.1 KB, 1 views)
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Hooterville, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wireless Network (Vista Business)

    May I suggest clicking on 'set up a connection or network' in the network sharing folder. From there you'll be able to choose a private network.
    Then go back to network sharing and you'll see customize.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Wireless Network - Solved

    I couldn't get it to maintain the private setting, however I believe we have solved the problem (with kudos to my spouse).
    You may experience connectivity issues or performance issues when you connect a mobile PC that is running Windows Vista to a wireless access point
    The KB article shows why the problem appeared so erratically - it depended on whether I had my laptop plugged or not.
    My tests show that the problem disappears when the laptop is plugged in or the battery draining High Performance mode is chosen.
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Wireless Network - Solved

    You'll want Vista SP-1 then. IIRC, one of the biggies in there is much better battery performance.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Wireless Network - Solved

    I didn't think it was out yet...
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Wireless Network - Solved

    It is NOT out for the public yet, but you will be seeing it SOON.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Burke, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wireless Network - Solved

    Installed the download from Technet yesterday on a Dell Inspiron laptop. Took almost 2 hours and reboots itself bunch of times. Does not require password logons as configuration takes place before the logon. Seems to be fine so far.

    Did have a client earlier in the week with a Dell Latitude caught in endless loop reboot after "automatic updates" download crashed system. Restore to previous configuration did not work.....nothing worked. Had to pull drive and recover data and then blow drive and re-install everything from scratch.

    Thankfully Microsoft has pulled that update.

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Wireless Network - Solved

    The update in question is one of the SP-1 prerequisites. From what I've read, the 'endless reboot' problem appears to be only if you install that update via 'automatic updates'. If you download and install the update manually then it will most likely work. If it is installed as part of the SP-1 install it will also be OK. My installs of SP-1 took a little less than 1 hour. So far, all is well.

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Wireless Network - Solved

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by joeperez on 21-Feb-08 08:25. added note)</P>It is available on Technet or MSDN.

    Note: I should've posted orignally that currently the download is to subscribers only.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •