Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    257
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Sharing a database (2003)

    I have creates several databases in 97 and 2000. Thet are shared by many users and some have access security. We have just converted to 2003 and I am encountering some error messages. Such as "The database has been placed in a state by user 'Admin' on machine 'p000045' that prevents it from being opened or locked. " OK...I have check the options under tools and I have it shared and on locked with editing the record. What else do I need to look at? Only one person can work in it at a time...this is a major problem.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Sharing a database (2003)

    Make sure that you don't have code that modifies the design of a database object. In Access 97 it was permitted to do that while other users were logged into the database. In later versions, modifying the design of a database object locks the database exclusively, so that other users cannot open it.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    257
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sharing a database (2003)

    Hans,

    I have looked and I don't see any code that changes any objects. I do have code telling it to go to a new record, max the screen, assigning a value to a field...

    How do I get around this? I had to modify a report this morning since 7:00am and I have been waiting on the users to get here so they can get out as well as waiting for networking to get here to boot them out! I am going to have to put a time out feature somewhere.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Sharing a database (2003)

    Do you have code that creates or modifies toolbar buttons? That would count as a design change too.

    Make sure that "Track Name AutoCorrect Info" in the General tab of Tools | Options... has been turned off.

    The best way to deal with this problem is to split the database into a backend with tables only, and a frontend with queries, forms etc. and links to the backend tables. Give each user a local copy of the frontend.
    When you need to modify the design of a frontend object, do so in a copy of your personal frontend, and when it has been tested, distribute the new frontend to the users.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    257
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sharing a database (2003)

    I use a switchboard and in the startup, I remove the toolbars.

    What does dependency information mean??

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Sharing a database (2003)

    If Track Name AutoCorrect Info is turned on, Access keeps track of which database objects are used by another one. For example, form A could be based on query B which in its turn is based on tables C and D. This is called the dependency information for form A.
    If Track Name AutoCorrect Info is turned off, dependency information is not available.
    Unfortunately, Name AutoCorrect is known to cause various problems, so it is generally recommended to keep it turned off.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    257
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sharing a database (2003)

    Thanks....

    I appreciate your help. Have a great day.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sharing a database (2003)

    We have run into this in our environment. I've had a user with modify access open the database so the .ldb file is created. I change the security perms on the .ldb file only so all users/groups have RWX only and no delete. This seems to take care of it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •