Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    windows shortcut menu Print (Word 2002 XP SR3)

    The windows shortcut menu includes a Print menu.

    From emails, users detach attachments to windows explorer, right mouse click and print. This is a common task, and usually done in a batch process. ie in the mornings print all emails & attachments.

    The paper source (default tray) is saved with the document. Some of the attachments are client word documents. The client docs have paper source set to "Automatically select", or Tray 1, 2 or 3.

    We have printers with 5 input trays. There are different paper types in Tray 1, 2 & 3. Tray 4 and 5 is plain A4 paper.

    Whats occuring is using windows explorer, right mouse click native print, the client word attachments print to tray 1, 2 or 3.

    Is there a way I can intercept windows explorer native print, to clear the client docs paper source trays and redirect to print to tray 4 & 5.

    Would I need to create a .dll?

    many thanks

    diana
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: windows shortcut menu Print (Word 2002 XP SR3)

    To see the action performed by the Print option in the right-click menu for .doc files:
    - Start Windows Explorer.
    - Select Tools | Folder Options...
    - Activate the File Types tab.
    - Select DOC (Microsoft Word document) in the list of extensions.
    - Click Advanced.
    - Select Print in the list of actions.
    - Click Edit...
    - The "code" is listed in the DDE section - there are two versions, one for if Word is already active and one for if it isn't.

    The instructions are WordBasic instructions enclosed in square brackets. You might try adding WordBasic code to reset the paper source.
    You can download the WordBasic help file from Download details: Word 95 WordBasic Help File.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: windows shortcut menu Print (Word 2002 XP SR3)

    ok so ill have to edit file associations DDE commands.

    illl look into

    thank you again Hans

    diana

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: windows shortcut menu Print (Word 2002 XP SR3)

    Consider using VBScript, which you can "run" by placing your .vbs file in the Send To folder so that the user can right click the document, then Send To and then your script. It's an extra step, but with VBScript you have almost the full functionality of VBA, so you can specify an ActivePrinter, you can access the PageSetup dialog, etc.

    (If you haven't coded VBScript before, bear in mind that it uses weak variable typing. Rather than dim str1 as string, you just use dim str1. There are some other differences, but that's the first one you need to know to convert code you've developed and tested in VBA to VBScript.)

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: windows shortcut menu Print (Word 2002 XP SR3)

    oh good idea Jefferson

    yes ive coded in VBScript before

    now ive just gotta find the time to do all the work <img src=/S/yikes.gif border=0 alt=yikes width=15 height=15>

    diana

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: windows shortcut menu Print (Word 2002 XP SR3)

    >- The "code" is listed in the DDE section - there are two versions, one for if Word is already active and one for if it isn't.
    > The instructions are WordBasic instructions enclosed in square brackets. You might try adding WordBasic code to reset the paper source.

    Thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •