Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Linking between databases (2003)

    I would like to create another database from a database I currently use and link to tables from that database. Where in proximity to the table I want to link tables to does the new database have to be? Same drive, network etc... I have been requested to create a scaled down version of a database I currently maintain and this will be put out on a lan drive, Cognos Server . The main database will be on a network drive, different server. I thought if I linked the tables in the two databases, I wouldn't have to import the data twice. I really don't understand network stuff....

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Linking between databases (2003)

    The user should be able to "see" the folder in which the database with the tables is stored, and have full permissions (read/write/create/delete) in that folder. That is sufficient.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Linking between databases (2003)

    Does linking the tables make the database having the linked tables smaller?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Linking between databases (2003)

    Yes, a linked table takes up very little space, since the data (i.e. the records) are not stored in the linked table, only information about the design of the table and about the location of the "real" table.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Pittsburgh, --UNITED STATES of AMERICA--
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Linking between databases (2003)

    The main database will be overwritten monthly. Will this break the links? Sorry for the dumb questions but I don't want to set everything up only to miss something that won't make this possible.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Linking between databases (2003)

    Do you mean the database with the "real" tables? As long as the name of the database remains the same and the names of the tables as well, you'll be OK. If there is a change in either, you'll have to relink the tables.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Pittsburgh, --UNITED STATES of AMERICA--
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Linking between databases (2003)

    Thanks Hans.

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    188
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Linking between databases (2003)

    I have a similar question: is there anything ODBC-ish we can set up between two access tables? Scenario:
    - one database on a web server for which I don't want to open full permissions
    - "linked" database on a shared network drive where folks can create their own forms and additional tables based on the data dumped into the first database

    Fingers crossed,
    Angela

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Linking between databases (2003)

    The Jet Engine doesn't support linking to a database using HTTP (internet).

    If the data are relatively static, you could place an Access backend on the shared network drive, and import data periodically, for example every night.
    If the data are more dynamic, consider storing them in a SQL Server or MySQL database - you should be able to link to those over HTTP from the Access frontend.

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    188
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Linking between databases (2003)

    Darn! The fields will be changing frequently enough that I'm thinking setting it up in SQL will be too much of a pain; will perhaps try to think of other options. Greatly appreciate the help, though. Does anyone know of an online "forms engine" that would let you create forms on the fly and manage the data behind the scenes in the style of survey monkey?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •