Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    linking database tables (2003)

    I am creating a database from another database and linking the tables. I opened up a new database and linked the tables to this other database. Then I proceeded to import some of the queries, some of the forms, some of the reports etc. from the original database. I brought in only the objects that I needed into this new database. I did this yesterday. I opened the database that I was linking to and it looks like the new database I created. I want the original database to stay the same. Could this happen? Before I accuse anyone of overwriting the database with this scaled down version database, I wanted to make sure it wasn't my fault.

    I just looked at the tables, queries in the database that the new database is linking to and they are all there. It looks like just the switchboard changed to look like the new database. Would this happen just by creating a new database from an existing database? I did edit the switchboard in the new database but would this cause the switchboard in the original database to change too?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: linking database tables (2003)

    You can only link tables. There is no way to link other database objects such as queries or forms. So if you change a form in the frontend database (the one with the linked tables), it will have no effect whatsoever on forms in the backend database (the one with the "real" tables)

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: linking database tables (2003)

    I only linked the tables. I imported the other objects(queries, forms, reports etc). On looking at the database more closely, everything is still in the main database. It is just the switchboard that changed. When I removed things from the switchboard in the new database, the original databases switchboard removed them too. I guess all I have to do is import the original switchboard since everything is there. I just think it is funny that when I imported the switchboard into the new database and edited it, the original databases switchboard was changed.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: linking database tables (2003)

    I cannot imagine how the switchboard in one database changed spontaneously when you changed it in another one. My guess would be that you imported the switchboard after editing it instead of before editing it. Or you became confused about which database you were editing.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: linking database tables (2003)

    I was only in the new database. I left 2 switchboard items on the new database. The original had 8. I edited the two on the new database but the original didn't have the edited changes. It just removed everything but the two that I kept in the new database. Sometimes I am daffy but I never touched the database that I was linking to. I can't imagine how this happened.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: linking database tables (2003)

    Where is the switchboard items table located? in the old database, in the new database, or in a back end database?

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: linking database tables (2003)

    Oh wait - I misunderstood. You mean switchboard items. I thought you had edited the design of the form.

    Access uses a table to store the switchboard items. Since you linked the Switchboard Items table from the "old" database into the "new" one, both databases use the same switchboard items, and adding, editing or deleting switchboard items in either database stores the changes in the Switchboard Items table in the "old" database. Anything you change in the Switchboard Manager will affect both databases.

    If you want the "new" database to have different switchboard items than the "old" one, you should delete the linked Switchboard Items table from the "new" database, then import it from the "old" database into the "new" one. You can then use the Switchboard Manager to make changes that affect only the "new" database, not the "old" one!

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger SteveH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chelsea, Gtr London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    587
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: linking database tables (2003)

    The switchboard created by the wizard creates a table called Switchboard Items (IIRC)

    If you linked to this table rather than importing it any changes to the front-end switchboard will be reflected in that back-end table.

    Probably not what you wanted to happen!
    Steve H
    IT Lecturer/Access Developer
    O2K SR3/O2010; Win7Pro

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Pittsburgh, --UNITED STATES of AMERICA--
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: linking database tables (2003)

    Thanks for the answer. I didn't think I was that daffy. Good thing I didn't accuse anyone of tampering with the database.....

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: linking database tables (2003)

    I took the link out between the tables. Now another problem. The new database was put on Cognos Upfront. It is linked to the database on the V drive. (I took the link out for the Switchboard table). Now when someone clicks on the new database on upfront, they get security warnings. Then the database opens with a splash screen. They click on Ok to close the Splash screen then they get Internet Explorer - Security Warning. The publisher could not be verified. Are you sure you want to run this software? Then there is the name of the database and Publisher: Unknown Publisher. Then you can click on Run or Don't Run. They click on Run and the database does not appear. There is another Access database on Upfront (doesn't have a Splash Screent) and it doesn't have the internet Explorer Security warning.
    Any ideas or help would be appreciated.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: linking database tables (2003)

    I don't know anything about Cognos Upfront, but does this help?
    - Start Internet Explorer.
    - Select Tools | Internet options
    - Activate the Security tab.
    - Select Local Intranet.
    - Click Sites.
    - Clear the "Automatically detect intranet network" check box (leave the other check boxes ticked).
    - OK your way out.
    If it doesn't help, you can tick the check box again. You might also try adding the UNC path of the database to your trusted sites.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •