Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: System Lockups

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Duluth, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    System Lockups

    Hi All.

    Not sure where this post actually belongs, but I'll start here.

    I am trying to debug my son's PC (homebuilt) due to a nasty habit of locking up. Yesterday I reformatted the C drive and reinstalled Windows XP HE SP2. He is running an AMD Athlon 64 2800+ processor with an ATI 9600 graphics card. I am suspicious of the interaction of the graphics system and windoze for the following reasons.

    When booting up, once the default XP environment has loaded and the start bar appears, an error message shows up saying something about MOM.EXE not loading, or MOM.Implementation not loading. Googling MOM.EXE turns up a bunch of locations discussing this and whether it is spyware or not. It is a file associated with ATI's Catalyst software. One site said that if Microsoft's .NET 2.0 was installed, that would fix the problem. We downloaded .NET 3.5 and I can see it in the Windows file structure, but I have no knowledge about this software or how to invoke it, if indeed I need to.

    The other graphics related problem is that the display properties cannot sense the monitor type and hence the resolution is wonky. The monitor is a Dell 2700WFP which Dell assures us should be picked up through the Plug and Play recognition system. Problem is that Windows does not see the monitor as plug n play. In the Device Manager, the monitor is defined as "default" as opposed to "plug and play". I have tried searching for drivers for the monitor that might help define it, but so far no luck.

    So, I turn to the experts here for advice. I am curious whether there is any that might help me.

    Douglas

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: System Lockups

    1.) Once you install .NET you do not have to do anything to invoke it. A program that requires it will call .NET automatically. .NET 3.5 includes .NET 2.0 SP-1 and .NET 3.0 SP-1. So, once installed you should be fine. Be sure to install it before updating the ATI software.

    2.) Download the most current ATI Catalyst software for the ATI 9600 from AMD GAME! Drivers and Utilities. Uninstall the current version. Install the most current version.

    3.) If you do not have the CD that came with the monitor (which should have the drivers on it), go to Drivers & Downloads for your Dell Monitor to get drivers for the monitor.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Lockups

    Joe has hit the main points. While your graphic card is a very good one, I do not believe that it has a preset for the 1680x1050 native resolution of your display. You need to have the software that came with your display installed. If it is installed take it out and reinstall it. If not, get it via Joe's link. As an aside, I would hook this display to the graphics card with a DVI cable.

    Paul

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Duluth, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Lockups

    Joe and Paul, thank you for your comments.

    I uninstalled the ATI software suite and downloaded the latest ATI package and installed it. This time I did not get any error message about MOM.exe but the monitor choice is still labeled as "default."

    I tried the CD that came with the monitor and it basically says to get drivers from the graphics card provider or buy a new card that supports a 1680x1050 resolution. No drivers on the CD. The Dell website does not offer drivers for the monitor either (as far as I have been able to tell). So, not sure where to go from here.

    D.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: System Lockups

    You now have the drivers for the video card. They have nothing to do with the PC recognizing the type of monitor. Are you sure the model is 2007WFP? Have you checked the Dell support forums?

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: System Lockups

    D,
    Have you checked to see if Plug & Play is enabled in Control Panel>Administrative Tools> Services?
    Also some BIOS settings will control P&P.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Lockups

    If you have verified that your system is enabled to plug and play as Bob suggested and still have the problem, then you might try the following sequence of checks.

    1. Unseat and reseat both ends of the DVI cable (if you are using one). The ID sense line connection may be loose or bad. If no play ->2
    2. Replace the DVI connection with a well-seated VGA connection (if you have the cable). If no play ->3
    3. Move the 2700WFP from your son's computer to your computer and connect using your cable. If no play, you have a display problem. Otherwise ->4
    4. Move your computer's display to your son's computer and connect with your cable. If it does not play, you probably have a display adapter problem (hardware or software). If it does play we have to sit down with a drink and think some more. <img src=/S/confused3.gif border=0 alt=confused3 width=45 height=45>

    Paul

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Duluth, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Lockups

    Good Idea. I have now checked and P-n-P is enabled (and was).

    D.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Duluth, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Lockups

    My son is using a VGA cable as the graphics card he has does not support DVI. Perhaps it's time for him to upgrade his graphics card.

    On the plus side, the PC appeared to remain up all day. I was gone, but left it running tho I turned the monitor off. Perhaps removing the ATI software and reinstalling it after the .NET stuff was present solved the freeze problem.

    Douglas

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •