Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    617
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Combo box issues (Access03)

    I have put two combo boxes on a form. I had them pull data straight from two tables with the data being entered into two other tables. Something we do daily, but I guess I don't remember how, because the crazy things bongs me everytime I try to use it. Properties include:

    Count: 1
    Width: 2"
    Bound 1 (there is only one item on the grid)
    Row Source Type is Table/Query, Row Source is SELECT tblDepartments.Department FROM tblDepartments ORDER BY tblDepartments.Department
    Limited to List: Yes
    Enabled: Yes
    Locked: No

    So what am I not seeing this late in the day?

    Thank you.

    Fay

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Combo box issues (Access03)

    Is the combo box bound to a field?

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    617
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combo box issues (Access03)

    Yes in both cases.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Combo box issues (Access03)

    Could you post a stripped down copy of your database? See <post#=401925>post 401925</post#> for instructions.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    617
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combo box issues (Access03)

    Thanks Hans.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Combo box issues (Access03)

    Your setup is unfortunate. You shouldn't store the department name as a text field in the tblLearnerDepartments table, but the DeptID as a numeric field, and similar for the other fields for which there is a numeric ID such as Position and Credentials.

    And you shouldn't use a single form to enter learners and learnerdepartments. Use a main form based on tblLearners to enter/edit learners, and a subform based on tblLearnerDepartments to select one or more departments for the learner.

    See <post#=364,203>post 364,203</post#> for an example of how to handle data entry for a many-to-many relationship with a main form and subform.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    617
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combo box issues (Access03)

    Okay. Thanks. I had started to do the form/subform route. I will go back to it. Fay

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •