Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    InfoPath - Default working folder (InfoPath 2007 SP1)

    Can someone help please. I've had a search on the forum, and I've Googled but maybe not well enough!

    I'm trying to change the default folder that Info Path uses when saving/opening files (it doesn't seem to use the "last used" path, but seems to default to "My Docs".

    As I have all my files saved in a clear directory structure within "My Docs" this gives me a problem.

    MS help tells you how this



    Set a different default working folder

    Do the following in these 2007 Microsoft Office system programs:

    Note The folder that you select applies only to the program that you are currently using. For example, if you change the default working folder for Word, the default working folder for PowerPoint will still be My Documents.

    Access

    Excel

    PowerPoint

    Word

    Project

    Visio



    As you'll see, it does not include Info Path.

    Can anyone help


    Ta


    Colin

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,579
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: InfoPath - Default working folder (InfoPath 2007 SP1)

    Did you look at the steps for the various other Office programs and then see if there is anything similar within Infopath? I can't find anything other than the same document you found.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: InfoPath - Default working folder (InfoPath 2007 SP1)

    Hi

    Yes I've updated all the others. Some of the progs have a new style options window reached from the blue button, Others still use the older ALT T O route. but none seem to work with InfoPath.

    Never mind, I don't want to waste people's time on what is really a cosmetic issue.

    Thanks again to all who read and even more so to those who replied.


    Colin

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,579
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: InfoPath - Default working folder (InfoPath 2007 SP1)

    You could try posting a question at the Microsoft Infopath newsgroup. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: InfoPath - Default working folder (InfoPath 2007 SP1)

    Will do, and I'll update you if I get an answer.

    Ta


    Colin

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: InfoPath - Default working folder (InfoPath 2007 SP1)

    Got a nice quick and helpful answer at the MS Newsgroups as suggested

    In essenece I was trying to set this up to use Save (I'm editing these at my home PC where I@m the only user).

    I should be publishing as templates, so the Save option is not really one I should be using. The full answer is below.

    Colin





    Hi Colin.

    I do not think InfoPath is included in this default folder functionality.

    Here are a couple reasons why.

    When you open InfoPath it will show you the "cached" or last templates that
    have been opened. Like Recently used, so I believe they intended that that
    would provide you the selection of various forms you are using.

    I think you might be referring to the XML documents themselves not the
    templates.

    Best practice in InfoPath is not to use the save and save as functionality.
    Typically you configure a submit data connection that saves the documents to
    a specified location with a standardized naming structure. (This would be by
    template) Via a single button.
    Then usually users would browse this folder/ web site/ sharepoint location
    for the file they need and open it directly. Instead of doing some kind of
    file open process starting in InfoPath.
    Are you the only one using the documents? If so, you may not be as
    regimented but then you are not the typicall usage scenario where most often
    multiple people are using forms from some kind of shared location.

    Hope this info helps.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,579
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: InfoPath - Default working folder (InfoPath 2007 SP1)

    Ahaaa!! That makes sense. Thanks for posting the reply.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: InfoPath - Default working folder (InfoPath 2007 SP1)

    Yes it makes sense perfectly once mentioned to you, but as ever its sometimes hard to find out.

    That's why forums like this are such great help.

    So thanks to you and everyone else who posts.


    Colin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •