Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Restore Rows (Excel 2000)

    When I open a worksheet only 13 lines are visible. There is a menu bar a a few toolbars. This occurs regardless of which file I open. Can't get a norman worksheet to appear.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Restore Rows (Excel 2000)

    Can you post a screenshot (max 640x480 pixels and 100KB)?

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Restore Rows (Excel 2000)

    Enclosed test.xls
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Restore Rows (Excel 2000)

    The workbook that you attached opens normally for me.
    There is a procedure Sub Workbook_Open() in one of the code modules that would, if located in ThisWorkbook instead of in a standard module, resize the Excel application window to 600 x 400 points (8.33" by 5.56") when the workbook is opened. But otherwise I don't see anything suspicious.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Restore Rows (Excel 2000)

    If I open Excel2000 and then load the enclosed file It will only show 14 lines. However, if I open Excel2007 the file will open properly.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Restore Rows (Excel 2000)

    I'm using Excel 2002 at the moment.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Restore Rows (Excel 2000)

    Perhaps there is an add-in in your Excel 2000 that causes problems. See Jan Karel Pieterse's <!post=Systematic Approach to Behavioral Problems in XL,290455>Systematic Approach to Behavioral Problems in XL<!/post>.

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Restore Rows (Excel 2000)

    I solved the problem. Went to Tools/Customize and unclicked WorksheetMenuBar and the sheet popped up to normal size.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Restore Rows (Excel 2000)

    Glad you found it. I wouldn't have come up with that.

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Restore Rows (Excel 2000)

    I have another problem that I can't figure out. It is a MISSING MACRO.
    I have an open workbook. wrote a macro and saved it in a module. When i try to run it, the macro window appears but the smaller window "Macros In" window does not list the macro I just wrote. As a matter of fact no macros are listed.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Restore Rows (Excel 2000)

    The "Macros in" dropdown should display a list of workbooks, not macros. Macros are listed between the "Macro name" box and the "Macros in" dropdown.

    A VBA procedure (Sub) will, or should, be listed if
    - It is stored in a standard module.
    - It has no arguments.
    It will not be listed if it is stored in ThisWorkbook, in a worksheet module, in a class module or in a userform module, and neither if it has arguments.

  12. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Restore Rows (Excel 2000)

    Ok Hans, I can see that now.

    Can you tell me why I'm getting a Runtime Error #424---ObJect Required in the following code:
    Sub TestMacro()
    Dim SelectRace As Worksheet
    Set SelectRace=Application.InputBox(Prompt:=EnterRace" ,Type:=2)
    Sheets("SelectRace").Select
    Sheets("SelectRace").Name="Today"sRace"
    End Sub

    What I'M trying to do with the Imputbox is to enter a string and change the name of the worksheet because the orginal macro jumps back and forth from the worksheet to sheet 1 to sheet 2 and back to the worksheet a number of times.
    Isn't Dim SelectRace As Worksheet an object?

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Restore Rows (Excel 2000)

    SelectRace should be declared as a string, not as a worksheet: it contains the worksheet name, not the worksheet itself. You shouldn't use Set since SelectRace is not an object.
    And to use the value of the variable, you should use Sheets(SelectRace). The expression Sheets("SelectRace") refers to a sheet whose name is literally SelectRace.

    Dim SelectRace As String
    SelectRace=Application.InputBox(Prompt:=EnterRace" ,Type:=2)
    Sheets(SelectRace).Select
    Sheets(SelectRace).Name="Today"sRace"

  14. #14
    WS Lounge VIP sdckapr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    11,225
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 342 Times in 335 Posts

    Re: Restore Rows (Excel 2000)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by sdckapr on 14-Mar-08 17:38. Forgot to add last 2 lines of code)</P>3 errors (I am surprised you can run the code with the first 2)
    1) Set SelectRace=Application.InputBox(Prompt:=<font color=red>"</font color=red>EnterRace",Type:=2)
    2) Sheets("SelectRace").Name="Today<font color=red>'</font color=red>sRace"

    The last gives your error
    3) Dim SelectRace As Worksheet
    Set SelectRace=Application.InputBox(Prompt:="EnterRace ",Type:=2)

    You DIM Select Race as a spreadsheet. The result of a type2 Application input box is a string. A string is not a worksheet.
    You could use:
    Set SelectRace = <font color=red>Worksheets</font color=red>(Application.InputBox(Prompt:="EnterRace ", Type:=2)<font color=red>)</font color=red>

    If you want the worksheet name. Though I would use something with some error handling to ensure a valid name is typed in:
    <pre>Dim SelectRace As Worksheet
    Set SelectRace = Nothing
    On Error Resume Next
    Do While SelectRace Is Nothing
    Set SelectRace = Worksheets(Application.InputBox(Prompt:="EnterRace ", Type:=2))
    If SelectRace Is Nothing Then
    MsgBox "Invalid Worksheet"
    End If
    Loop
    SelectRace.Select
    SelectRace.Name="Today'sRace"
    </pre>


    Steve

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •