Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Maximum # of switches on a LAN?

    I seem to remember back in the dark days of Networking 101 that there was a maximum number of ethernet switches on the same LAN (or was it segment?).

    Our situation is that we have a large Netgear ethernet switch, and connected to it are 25 ethernet cables laid round the floor of the building, each terminating in a socket box at the far end, with a patch cable then going to the PC's NIC.

    Except it isn't quite as simple as that, as some of the ethernet socket boxes are in the wrong location, and it is necessary to put a small powered Belkin 5-port Network Switch at the end of some of the cables, to give an ethernet connection for up to four PCs at that location.

    So my question: is there a maximum number of 5-port Network Switches that can be installed without Unhappiness Occuring? (And no, I am not even thinking of connecting more than 25 of them...!)

    (It's when you have to implement bodges like this that you realise the benefits of flood wiring...)
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Maximum # of switches on a LAN?

    I've never heard of any hard limitation on the number of switches. The practical limitation would appear to be the number of transmitting devices; you can sniff the traffic to determine whether there are too many packet collisions on any given "collision domain." It seems unlikely that 5 devices per port on the Netgear would be too many, unless the users are really hammering the connection. On the other hand, if you are using "old" cable that is more subject to interference, you might be better off replacing it with a few runs of CAT6 cable.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: Maximum # of switches on a LAN?

    Thanks very much - I wonder what I can have been (mis-)remembering?

    The problem is that the 3" square plastic trunking is already stuffed full of Cat-5, telephone and (yes!) 230V mains cables, and heaven knows what else, so laying more cables is not an option. And we don't have the odd few ŁK to rip everything out and start from scratch again...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Maximum # of switches on a LAN?

    Why not go wireless? <img src=/S/crazy.gif border=0 alt=crazy width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/duck.gif border=0 alt=duck width=23 height=23> <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25>
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  5. #5
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: Maximum # of switches on a LAN?

    And go from a minor headache to a slower and larger one? I'm more likely to go HomePlug!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Maximum # of switches on a LAN?

    Hence the <img src=/S/crazy.gif border=0 alt=crazy width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/duck.gif border=0 alt=duck width=23 height=23> <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25>


    <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Maximum # of switches on a LAN?

    I know of a classroom that has 20 machines connected to at least 5 switches, through one router and one DSL modem.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •