Star Lounger
    Thanks

Query question (2003)

I work in a hospital and have been asked to pull some data out of an Access database that I did not create. It is for tracking patients enrolled in a diabetic program. The patient may follow up at any of our 4 facilities.
    I have created queries that give them what they want - except some patients visit more than one facility during their program. On queries that need to know the facility - some patients are listed twice because they used more than one facility. That is okay, the people who get the report understand that - but they would like to know who those patients are. Is there a way to write a query to show me only the patients that attended more than one facility?

I've looked around websites to see if I can find something similar - but I cannot. It sounds simple enough, but I must not be thinking about it in the right way.

I've attached a stripped down version with some test data in it. It has examples from 01/01/08 - 03/15/08.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Query question (2003)

I don't see an attachment...

You can create a totals query that groups by the patient ID and counts the facilities. Then specify >1 as condition in the Criteria line for the count field. The query will return the patient IDs with more than one visit.

Star Lounger
    Thanks

That's perfect, thank you so much!
    It was so simple - I didn't even think that way.
    Vicky

Star Lounger
    Thanks

Sorry, I responded too quick.. I need the query to show only the patients that attended a different facility. Most of the time, the patient folows up at the same hospital for the visits. I need to know the ones that went to a different facility for a visit.

Example. Mary Smith had 4 visits - all at Mount Carmel West Hospital (that's typical). But Susie Jones had 3 visits at Mount Carmel West Hospital and 1 visit at Mount Carmel East Hospital. How could I identify which patients visited 2 or more different facilities?