Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Vista SP1 available for download (Vista SP1)

    Vista SP1 is now available for download from Microsoft. See here for more details. I downloaded and installed it from Windows Update earlier this evening. The process took just over one hour to complete.

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista SP1 available for download (Vista SP1)

    So, you can wait until Automatic Updates offers this or you can go directly to the Microsoft download site and download it to your hard drive and install it at your leisure.

    I chose to download it directly and using a 3rd-party download manager; for example, Internet Download Manager, which is my preferred choice since it allows resuming broken downloads for whatever reason and many more features. This is particularly useful for very large files and especially so for those still using dialup. Don't you just hate it when you are downloading a large file, e.g., 150 megs, you get to 95% and get disconnected and then have to start over? <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/hairout2.gif>

    Vista SP-1 download file is VERY LARGE: 445 megs

    For your convenience, here is a link to download it directly: Windows Vista SP-1.
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista SP1 available for download (Vista SP1)

    Just as a BTW, I believe Firefox has a built-in 'download manager' - it certainly keeps track of downloads and allows to to retry/pick up from where you stopped.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Vista SP1 available for download (Vista SP1)

    Which language file is your link?
    It would be best NOT to link to the down loadable file as some will need a different language!

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,584
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Vista SP1 available for download (Vista SP1)

    Joe

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista SP1 available for download (Vista SP1)

    Heh, as a side note, I would say that on dial up 150-445 MB is out of the question. But, of course at the time (most used dial up) d/l managers helped a lot for d/l in the range up to 40-50 MB.

    Now I have 8 Mbit/s, but still finds the Fx's manager, as mentioned by Leif, sometimes useful. But at that speed the need for "resume" would mean very large files, and most d/l such very rarely. But of course, *when* such a d/l is interrupted, it is inconvenient.

    Then I've heard that in some countries the monthly d/l size can be limited depending on the agreement with the ISP.

    The SP1 is certainly not available in for instance Swedish for some time.

    Though mentioned in some links, the thread maybe should mention the main languages at the moment: English, French, German, Japanese & Spanish.

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Vista SP1 available for download (Vista SP1)

    I just got mine through Windows Update (it is now 2 AM March 20) and I suspect that it was tailored to what I already had, as the download was very small (less than 100 MB, but took a long time, so the servers must be busy). Installation took something like an hour, and it looked after itself. My one regret is that I don't have a saved file, to install on my other Vista computer.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    336
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Vista SP1 available for download (Vista SP1)

    Thanks for these links. They seem important, and they helped me figure out why SP1 is not showing up on Windows Update for me. I thought I would explain my situation because it may help others in similar circumstances avoid trouble. Or if I am wrong someone can correct me. It seems I have a SigmaTel sound card with a driver that is not compatible with SP1, so Microsoft has engineered Windows Update so that I won't install the SP until the driver is updated to a compatible one. Is this a correct reading of the situation? So far SigmaTel hasn't released an updated driver, so I have no choice but to wait until they do before I install the service pack. On the other hand, I could download the whole file and try to install it anyway, but that seems like asking for trouble.

    I looked at SigmaTel's web site but there is no information there. Anyone have any idea when they might be releasing a new driver?

    fafner

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista SP1 available for download (Vista SP1)

    "... so Microsoft has engineered Windows Update so that I won't install the SP until the driver is updated to a compatible one. Is this a correct reading of the situation?"

    That is my understanding also, yes.

    As I have heard, they (WU) will start distributing drivers as optional downloads. So SP1 will not show up, but there will be (to begin with) optional driver downloads, as mentioned in "Resolution 1".

    In your case I don't know the brand of the PC, but I would guess it's best for you to look for drivers at the OEM's pages, i.e. DELL, HP etc. not SigmaTel (or Integrated Device Technology (IDT)?). Could also watch what is happening at Optional d/l's at WU.

    The time for availability for different drivers can probably vary, as I'm sure you know. Paul Thurrott somewhat downplays the problem with the drivers and SP1 install, your sound may be disabled etc. At worst you have to reinstall a driver manually. He also thinks all should upgrade "as quickly as possible". Don't know if most agree with that. I would wait if I had a driver issue.

    There is no problem with waiting, also mentioned by our Woody.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,584
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Vista SP1 available for download (Vista SP1)

    Yes, Microsoft has blocked SP-1 on machines where WU detects problems drivers. When updated drivers are released you'll have the opportunity to update the driver through WU then SP-1 should be offered. If you are willing to take a chance AND you have the current Sigmatel drivers, you could download the complete SP-1 (very large ~450MB), uninstall the driver, install SP-1, then reinstall the driver.

    Unless there is something posted on the Sigmatel site it is almost impossible to predict when an updated driver will be made available. My best guess would be ASAP as I don't think any vendor wants to be tagged as stopping a service pack for very long. However, given the issues with drivers in Vista all along who knows? <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Vista SP1 available for download (Vista SP1)

    With my Dell laptop (which has the Sigmatel chip), I uninstalled the Sigmatel driver, rebooted and Windows installed its own driver. I then checked Windows Update again and SP1 was available. It installed without a hitch. After listening to a few files with iTunes and WMP, I really could not notice any difference between the sound produced with the Sigmatel driver and the Windows driver. I may reinstall a Sigmatel driver when it is released, but it certainly won't be a high priority.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Vista SP1 available for download (Vista SP1)

    I have just had my first BSOD on this computer with the Service Release, less than nine hours (much of it asleep) after the install, which was represented as necessary. I have had very few BSODs with this computer, and I am not a happy camper. It came as I tried to start Yahoo Music Jukebox in going through applications to see what works and what doesn't.

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,584
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Vista SP1 available for download (Vista SP1)

    Did you get any details about the BSOD? Is the Yahoo software up-to-date?

    Joe
    Joe

  14. #14
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Vista SP1 available for download (Vista SP1)

    All appears to be working well now. It may just have been the volume of change that overloaded the system, and it might be advisable to restart occasionally as you work through programs, although I gather that is out of fashion.

    Be sure to check the status of all utilities before running them, because many of them have very late updates, and Vista must have a million changes judging by the number of things Kaspersky has flagged as having changed.

  15. #15
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Vista SP1 available for download (Vista SP1)

    Another driver that is not mentioned in mskb 948343 that will cause the Vista SP1 update to not be offered is for computers with Logitech QuickCam.

    <hr>Additionally, Windows Update will not offer Windows Vista SP1 to computers with the Logitech QuickCam that uses the Lvuvc.sys device driver (all versions). Microsoft has identified a flaw in the Windows Vista Ks.sys file that may cause a critical stop during Windows Vista SP1 installation if this device driver file is present. An update to Ks.sys is being developed that resolves this issue. When Microsoft has resolved this issue, an update to Ks.sys will be offered to these users through Windows Update. After this update is installed, users will then be offered Windows Vista SP1 by re-checking for updates.<hr>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •