Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wheaton, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    merge to envelope w/ pre-existing text (2003 SP3)

    What kind of merge will allow me to print envelopes (main document) with pre-existing text and a data field?

    The problem is, the Mail Merge/Envelopes feature removes all text from the main document and doesn't allow me to insert / reposition text or fields.

    Arbitrary Example of output:
    EASTER SALE
    *Joe Schmoe*
    is eligible for 20% off
    with enclosed coupon

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: merge to envelope w/ pre-existing text (2003 SP3)

    Set up your envelope document the way you want, with the fixed text that you want to include.
    Save and close this document.
    Create a blank new document (this will be discarded).
    Start the mail merge wizard (task pane).
    In step 1, select Envelopes, then click Next.
    In step 2, select Start from existing document, then open the document that you saved. Click Next.
    Continue as usual.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wheaton, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: merge to envelope w/ pre-existing text (2003 SP3)

    So far, so good. But how do I choose merge fields from my data source? After choosing an existing data source, I don't see how to specify fields, such as First Name, Middle Initial, Last Name from my data header row. This Word Task Bar in 2003 seems much more confusing than the earlier versions. Typical Microsoft "trying to make things easier" but only for users who walk in lockstep.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: merge to envelope w/ pre-existing text (2003 SP3)

    You can insert merge fields in step 4 of the Mail Merge wizard. Click "More Items".
    You can also restore the old Insert Merge Field dropdown to the Mail Merge toolbar:
    - Display the Mail Merge toolbar.
    - Select Tools | Customize...
    - Activate the Commands tab.
    - Select Mail Merge in the list of Categories on the left.
    - Select Insert Merge Field > in the list of Commands on the right.
    - Drag this item to the Mail Merge toolbar.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wheaton, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: merge to envelope w/ pre-existing text (2003 SP3)

    Looking good! This will help me automate a tedious process!

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger Omega3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    343
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='HansV' post='702727' date='25-Mar-2008 14:46']Set up your envelope document the way you want, with the fixed text that you want to include.
    Save and close this document.
    Create a blank new document (this will be discarded).
    Start the mail merge wizard (task pane).
    In step 1, select Envelopes, then click Next.
    In step 2, select Start from existing document, then open the document that you saved. Click Next.
    Continue as usual.[/quote]

    I searched and found this post so I can print envelopes from a mail merge file. In step 2 I select Start from existing document. I am using Word XP so there is an Open button in the task pane to open my existing document. When I click on it nothing seems to happen. When I click Next at the bottom of the task pane for the next step, nothing happens. I remain in the same step. I seemed to be stuck and can't go any further except to close the task pane. Where am I going wrong?

    As a second question, should my existing document be the mail merge file with the one letter in it or do I need to create a new file with the merge to document button in the mail merge toolbar and then save and use that as the existing document? I assume I should use the mail merge file.
    You know it's time to diet when you push away from the table and the table moves.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    I have no idea why the Open button doesn't display the Open dialog for you. Perhaps it's displayed behind the document? Try switching with Alt+Tab to check this.

    The "existing document" can be a document that already includes merge fields, or it can be a more or less empty document into which you'll insert the merge fields later on.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger Omega3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    343
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hans, thanks for confirming that it should work that way.

    As a follow up to my little problem in case others run into this, I experimented a little. I found that if I select a different file in the list the Open button did indeed open the file.

    With more experimenting, I think I know now what happened. When I widen the task pane I can then see the entire name of the file in the list box that I was trying to open. That file had been renamed. If that’s the case, it would have been nice to get an error message to say it could not find the file instead of doing nothing.

    I think I’ll stick with the “more files” link for now on and select the file that way.

    Thank you!
    You know it's time to diet when you push away from the table and the table moves.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •