Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    614
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Trim to the dot (Access2000-03)

    HI!
    I have this text field where I am dividing one by another abd result sometimes is ridiculously long.
    All I need is to trim it from the right to the dot.
    Please, show me how.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    816
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Trim to the dot (Access2000-03)

    You can use the Int() or integer function.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    614
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Trim to the dot (Access2000-03)

    I had to append a few queries intot he table. I do not want to make it integer because it is going to be inconvenient.
    I can trim on Report level I just don't know syntax. Thanks

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Trim to the dot (Access2000-03)

    Could you try to explain plainly and clearly what you are trying to do?

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    614
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Trim to the dot (Access2000-03)

    I'll sure try...
    I am extracting a Count of IDs from one table, appending it to Main table.
    Then I am extracting count of Count of Jobs.
    Then I make a query from those 2 where I am dividing Count of Jobd/Count of IDs.
    Of course it is giving me all these digits after the dot.
    Can I place function in Field source on Report level where it will say
    Record Source: = Trim value from the right to the dot and take all that is left and display?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Trim to the dot (Access2000-03)

    Set the Format property of the text box bound to the calculated field to Fixed, and set Decimal Places to 0.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    614
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Trim to the dot (Access2000-03)

    For some reason Fixed is not available (nothing on Format menu - not a 1 item to choose from) and Decimals set to 0 but does not react to this 0.
    I went to the table and set field size to 2 and now it looks fine but table's menu also has no Format to choose from.
    Could this be the result of append data? Only 1 row gets appended into the table. Weird, isn't it?

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Trim to the dot (Access2000-03)

    You shouldn't look in the Format menu but in the Format property of the text box. If Fixed is not available in the dropdown, you can still type it in manually.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    614
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Trim to the dot (Access2000-03)

    I had changed all fields in tables to a Numbers. It works so far. Thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •