Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Vista and Visual Basic 6 (Home Premium)

    Am I the only one having trouble installing VB 6 on Vista?

    I didn't catch anything like that in a board scan.

    VB 6, which took about 15 minutes on my XP bopx, I have been installing for the last two hours, and I'm still waiting on SP-6 as we (I) speak.

    I understand you guys' wanting to stay "Vista compatible", but according to MS VB 6 is, so what's my problem?

    Here I am, TRYING to stay out of trouble... maybe that's not possible!?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: Vista and Visual Basic 6 (Home Premium)

    Do you have a link about VB6 being Vista compatible? Have you checked the MS support site for VB6/Vista issues?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Vista and Visual Basic 6 (Home Premium)

    Joe:

    I got the statement from an MS site: Support Statement for VB 6 on Windows Vista .
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: Vista and Visual Basic 6 (Home Premium)

    Are you running 32-bit or 64-bit Vista?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: Vista and Visual Basic 6 (Home Premium)

    From Visual Studio 6.0 SP5 setup on Vista Beta 2 (5384)? - MSDN Forums (one of the links at Search Results):

    "I thought I'd reply with details on how to get Visual Basic 6.0 SP6 installed on Vista.

    The Visual Basic 6.0 IDE and SP6 setup needs to be run with UAC on, with the local user running as Admin, running with elevated privileges (right click on the setup exe and select “Run As Administrator…”.

    Visual Basic 6.0 applications need to be run under the same security/runtime settings (UAC/Admin/Elevated)."


    Are you running like this?

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Vista and Visual Basic 6 (Home Premium)

    Joe:

    Come on now, you know I know just enough to get into trouble... I have a (somewhat vague) understanding of what you are listing.

    I was installing with Administrator rights, if that's what you're asking.

    Beyond that, I haven't the foggiest. I'll have to go to your link and read through it.

    Oh, and it's 32-bit Vista.

    Thanks,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Vista and Visual Basic 6 (Home Premium)

    <hr>I was installing with Administrator rights, if that's what you're asking.<hr>

    Remember you are a member of the Admin Group, but, not "THE Administrator". So you still need to use the "Run As administrator" <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: Vista and Visual Basic 6 (Home Premium)

    There is a relatively new microsoft newsgroup that you should check out - microsoft.public.vb.vista.compatibility.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: Vista and Visual Basic 6 (Home Premium)

    Upon further review, the first posts in the newsgroup previously mentioned say it is for developing VB applications. So, it may not be much help for your particular problem. Sorry for the confusion.

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Vista and Visual Basic 6 (Home Premium)

    Dave:

    You've tried drilling this into me before.

    If I have Administrator rights, what would be the difference?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Vista and Visual Basic 6 (Home Premium)

    Thanks anyway, Joe.

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Vista and Visual Basic 6 (Home Premium)

    There is one level above the Admin Group, called THE ADMINISTRATOR, which can do anything and everything. On a Home and Basic system you can NOT log in as The Administrator, but may use some of it's power when going through the UAC. That said when you boot into the Safe mode, you may be using this administrator account <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Vista and Visual Basic 6 (Home Premium)

    Chuck,
    I found this statement
    Question
    Where do I ask about installing Visual Basic-6 on Windows Vista laptop?
    Answer
    VB6 is so old this makes the question tricky so post in both the VB news groups and the Vista systems forums.
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/newsgroups/default.aspx
    http://forums.microsoft.com/TechNet/defaul...D=204&SiteID=17

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Vista and Visual Basic 6 (Home Premium)

    Dave:

    Firstly,

    "On a Home and Basic system you can NOT log in as The Administrator,"

    That's just the kind of thing they don't tell you that can make a difference in purchase. If it's "my Windows", why not let me do whatever with it? *Especially* if it's on a home system as opposed to a commercial / business system?

    And,

    It seems that it's the "exe's" that can be "run As Administrator". Especially when installing software, if it's that accessible, and that much more efficient, why not just allow it to the Admin Group, or set up a special case?

    And, lastly,

    If Administrator Groups only have "partial rights" what is it they still cannot do?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Vista and Visual Basic 6 (Home Premium)

    Dave:

    That may very well be the case, from some salesman or Vice President's point of view, but in fact, that is a perfect example (and SHOULD have been the perfect message) for Microsoft on how not everything new is better.

    I'd be willing to wager that if you counted up the VB6 folks and the VB.NET group, they would be fairly equal, if the former wasn't in fact in greater quantity. Don't you recall the ruckus that was raised when MS started trying to phase out VB 6?

    Or maybe I'm dreaming....

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •