Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bismarck, ND, USA
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Exchange Unavailable (XP)

    I recently upgraded my computer to Windows 2000 and Office XP. Now, when I open Outlook, I frequently get the error message: "Your MS Exchange Server is Unavailable". There are options to Retry, Work Offline, or Cancel. I am unable to open Outlook until I reboot my computer.

    If I exit Outlook and try to open it later, I always get the message.

    I am really tired of rebooting my computer! <img src=/S/smash.gif border=0 alt=smash width=30 height=26>

    Someone suggested not using Word as my e-mail editor, but changing that has had no effect. Any other suggestions?

    TIA . . .
    egghead

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exchange Unavailable (XP)

    an upgrade over an old os? delete networking and reinstall. or add the exchange server name and ip to the hosts file.

    we've been doing that, even though we shouldn't need to and connectivity problems disappeared.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bismarck, ND, USA
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exchange Unavailable (XP)

    Thanks for the information, but I don't know how to do either of your suggestions.

    Is there any hope for me? <img src=/S/clown.gif border=0 alt=clown width=15 height=15>
    egghead

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exchange Unavailable (XP)

    use search to locate a file called hosts - it's hidden so enable search to look for hidden files. open it in notepad and add a line for your server:
    123.456.123.456 server.name
    if you don't know the server ip, ping it by name and write down the IP. (start menu > run, type in either cmd or command. in the dos window, type
    ping server.name)

    to delete networking, go into control panel, networking and write down all the TCP/IP information. Delete it (and only it) and reboot - go back in and add it back.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bismarck, ND, USA
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exchange Unavailable (XP)

    I am not having any luck at all!

    I have several "hosts" files:
    hosts.sam c:windows
    lmhosts.sam c:windows
    hosts d:winntsystem32driversetc
    imhosts.sam d:winntsystem32driversetc
    hosts d:I386
    lmhosts.sa_ d:I386

    Next, when I try to find the server ip, I get "h:>unknown host server name

    Finally, when I went to the Control Panel, Network and Dial Up Connections and right clicked on the icon for Local Area Connection, and clicked Properties. When I click on Internet Protocol(TCP/IP) and Properties, the radio buttons for Obtain Address Automatically is selected--no info!

    I'm beginning to think I'm in over my head--does everyone agree?
    egghead

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exchange Unavailable (XP)

    this is the right one:
    d:winntsystem32driversetc

    i think you're missing a step - whether you're in over your head is another matter and the answer could go either way. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bismarck, ND, USA
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exchange Unavailable (XP)

    I'm still working on this--had some success: I now have the IP address.

    One clarification I'd like is on the line to add to the file in NotePad: do I put the IP address, then the word "server" and then the server name? or just the server name without the "server" in front of it. (That's how I got the Ping to work).

    Thanks for taking the time to help me.
    egghead

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exchange Unavailable (XP)

    use this format, with ip first, tab, then computer name. on the lan, the computername may be enough or use the fully qualified name: computername.domain.com

    xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx computername

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •