Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Baerum, Norway
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    HP Updater (Vista Home Premium)

    Any HP laptop experts out there who can help me or who have the same problem?
    I use a 6 month old HP 6500 series laptop dv6525ea. The Auto HP Updater (which checks for any needed software/driver updates etc ) said 'download and install the new HP Update software version 4.0.10.8. So I did but it failed to install (message 'internal failure 2739) and left me with no HP Update software. Using System Restore got me back to where I started but the HP Update is now (of course) telling me again to 'update'.
    There must be a way out of this loop!
    Also the HP Health Check failed a while back ... are others also having this problem?
    <img src=/S/aussie.gif border=0 alt=aussie width=21 height=22> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: HP Updater (Vista Home Premium)

    I've never had much luck with the HP Auto Updater for any of my HP products. Don't know why.

    I usually go to the HP site on occasion and check for any new updates and download them manually.
    Perhaps that is the way for you to go and download a fresh copy of the update to run off line.
    You might also check if they mention the error message 2739.

    As I mentioned to another lounger, HP ON-LINE help with a live rep has worked out well for me in the past.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Baerum, Norway
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: HP Updater (Vista Home Premium)

    Thanks Bob. I have gone round in circles with HP to try to solve the installation of their new HP Update. It says 'installed successfully' but when I check what is in programmes its the old one still! And if I use the installed HP Update to check what updates I should install it tells me to install what it said had been 'successfully installed'!
    Both HP Health Check and HP Update programmes have been a source of grief so I think your policy is the best ... do it yourself!

    With so many HP notebooks in world markets I am a bit surprised that we have not had more comments through Woody's' on this subject ... but maybe I am the only one with this difficulty.
    I would add that the person at HP whom I have been dealing with is very helpful and is still trying to help me work out 'what goes wrong'. I might try your HP On-Line idea but it would have to be English speaking.
    <img src=/S/aussie.gif border=0 alt=aussie width=21 height=22> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: HP Updater (Vista Home Premium)

    Ron,
    Thanks for all five of your responses to my post. How did you manage that? <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15>

    >>>HP On-Line idea but it would have to be English speaking

    It's definitely English speaking. That's one of the great advantages to it. I don't know about others but I have a REAL hard time understanding those Tech Reps from India or Pakistan or wherever they are from. They do try but I find myself asking them to repeat themselves, over and over again. This way it's printed out right on screen. No mistaking the meanings.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: HP Updater (Vista Home Premium)

    The Lounge server hickuped... <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: HP Updater (Vista Home Premium)

    More like a burp! <img src=/S/munch.gif border=0 alt=munch width=19 height=17> <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: HP Updater (Vista Home Premium)

    Edited to fix errors

    Try to download the update from

    HP Update and HP Software Update - Critical Security Update

    and SAVE it to your hard drive. Then, it is very important, right-click it and from pop-up menu select "Run as Administrator". After installation is complete, restart your laptop.

    I hope it will solve your problem.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Baerum, Norway
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: HP Updater (Vista Home Premium)

    Gosh, 5! Sorry about that Bob
    .
    When I hit the send the Woody page went AWOL so I guess there was a hiccup in the system.
    I will have a bit more of a play with the HP stuff but I have now been recommended by HP to 'hold off' until they have another updated version. It maybe something to do with COM Surrogate though we are not sure that is the problem.

    Hope you get 1 reply this time!
    Ron
    <img src=/S/aussie.gif border=0 alt=aussie width=21 height=22> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Baerum, Norway
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: HP Updater (Vista Home Premium)

    I have the critical update thanks.

    So many things to think about with this HP/Vista stuff ... might get to do something useful with the pc one day but then life would be boring!

    Ron
    <img src=/S/aussie.gif border=0 alt=aussie width=21 height=22> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: HP Updater (Vista Home Premium)

    Ron,
    Only one reply this time! <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>

    Did HP give any sort of time frame as to when another update would be available?
    Are they talking about a HP update or a MS update?

    Keep us posted.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Baerum, Norway
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: HP Updater (Vista Home Premium)

    Nope Bob, they just suggested that I wait for a new HP Update.

    Ah well, the notebook works fine ... except for the HP maintenance stuff. Maybe its maintenance free so I should delete all the spanners!

    Ron
    <img src=/S/aussie.gif border=0 alt=aussie width=21 height=22> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •