Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    989
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wifi - USA issue

    This is probably the wrong forum, but from previous experience I'm sure someone might point me in the right direction...

    This geezer I know purchased a laptop from the USA. In the UK he tries to view (and connect to) WiFi connections, but nothing shows in the list. Is anyone able to point me in the right direction?
    (I told him to chuck the laptop away, but I don't think he's happy with that solution.) Thanks, Andy.

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wifi - USA issue

    I'd be guessing at this, but it could be something to do with the channel the signal is broadcast on. In North America, channels 1, 6, and 11 are "allowed" for WiFi traffic.

    One may be required to update firmware to make other channels available (if at all possible).
    Christopher Baldrey

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    989
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wifi - USA issue

    Thank you. Andy.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Wifi - USA issue

    The 802.11b/g spectrum space (2.4GHz) should be largely the same worldwide. Not sure about 802.11a.

    There might be a problem with the software configuration. If it is a Centrino system, try using Intel's PRO/Wireless software instead of Windows, or vice versa. Also look for an update to PRO/Wireless from last year as there was a security problem.

    Or maybe... in the U.S. we don't use aerials, we use antennas. So a hardware upgrade might be required. <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Wifi - USA issue

    You can use the other channels, but to maximize coverage without overlap (and resulting conflict) among your access points, it is recommended to only use 1, 6 and 11. If you only need two access points, you can pick any two channels with equivalent spacing between them, such as 3 and 8.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Wifi - USA issue

    Channels 12 and 13 are used in the UK, but not in the US - otherwise everything is the same.

    StuartR

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    989
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wifi - USA issue

    Thanks gents - I will advise my mate accordingly. (Sorry not to get back sooner, but I'm not using my computer everyday.) Andy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •