Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    sfc /scannow (Vista Ultimate)

    Hi

    I run sfc /scannow about once a month, I have recently installed Service Pack 1, is it still OK to run sfc /scannow?

    Regards

    Braddy
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: sfc /scannow (Vista Ultimate)

    Running sfc /scannow was never a problem in Windows XP with service packs installed, I assume it'll be OK in Windows Vista too. Keep in mind that you have to use an elevated command prompt (run as administrator) to start it.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: sfc /scannow (Vista Ultimate)

    Hi Hans

    Thanks for the prompt reply, I give it a try and post any problems.

    Regards

    Braddy
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: sfc /scannow (Vista Ultimate)

    Hi

    I thought I would just report back on this, far from presenting a problem, it was quite the reverse, I have only ever got 98% before installing Service Pack 1, but now I am getting a 100% result.

    Regards

    Braddy
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: sfc /scannow (Vista Ultimate)

    Good! Thanks for posting back.

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts

    Re: sfc /scannow (Vista Ultimate)

    braddy60
    hi and greetings from the great "Free State" of Tennessee. As i am acronymically challenged, please explain "scf/scannow",
    because i am compleatly clueless (BIACC). People please stop this foolishness (PPSTF)
    Regards Plain Fred.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: sfc /scannow (Vista Ultimate)

    Hi Fred,

    sfc.exe is a utility that comes with windows. Its name is indeed an acronym, sfc stands for System File Checker. The way it acts can be controlled by specifying a switch, the one used most often is /scannow meaning that it will scan protected system files immediately. Other switches are /scanone (scan next time the PC is started) and /scanboot (scan each time the PC is booted).

    See System File Checker on Wikipedia.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: sfc /scannow (Vista Ultimate)

    I do not think you need to use SFC unless you think there is a problem with your Vista installation. However, if you choose to use SFC you should look at Some Windows Vista functions may not work, or Windows Vista may stop responding and System Files - SFC Command - Vista Forums for more detailed information on usage & troubleshooting.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: sfc /scannow (Vista Ultimate)

    Hi Fred

    sfc /scannow check to see if any system files are corrupt or missing:

    Instructions

    1. Locate your Windows XP installation CD. If you don't have one, you'll need to locate a directory on your system that's named"i386" (without the quotes). This directory may be on a hidden partition on your hard drive.

    2. Go to Start, then to Run, and type in "SFC.EXE /SCANNOW" (without the quotes - and with a space between the SFC.EXE and the /SCANNOW). The press Enter. (For VISTA, go to Start and type in the above information, then go to the top of the box and right click on SFC.EXE /SCANNOW and select "Run As Administrator")

    3. The program may (or it may not) ask you for your Windows XP installation CD - please insert it at the prompt. If it doesn't ask you for the CD this means that it wasn't necessary to replace any files.

    4. In the event the the system asks you for the CD, you must visit Windows Update immediately after the scan is completed (Please note that there won't be any confirmation dialog - the program will just exit without telling you anything).

    5. If this doesn't repair the problem with your system other troubleshooting procedures are required.

    Hope this helps

    Regards

    Braddy

    You might find a better explanation here http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/archive/wfp.mspx#ELD
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: sfc /scannow (Vista Ultimate)

    First let me say I have no experience with Vista (but do have from other Windows versions before).

    WFP (Windows File Protection) in XP (and WRP, Windows Resource Protection in Vista) is always on, protecting the system files in the background. The main reason, obviously, is to protect some system files from being replaced by other sources than the five supported mechanisms (TrustedInstaller). But files don't have to be replaced they can become corrupt, and then in case of a problem the System File Checker is a good tool. But it is not something to be used on a regular basis, since WFP/WRP is already there, running the background, so I agree with Joe.
    <hr>"3. [...] If it doesn't ask you for the CD this means that it wasn't necessary to replace any files."<hr>
    I don't agree; the System File Checker first looks for cached files and other places on a network, if no find, it asks for the media (CD). So it could be that it finds a file in %SystemRoot%System32DLLCache and copies it to %SystemRoot%System32.
    <hr>"4. In the event the the system asks you for the CD, you must visit Windows Update immediately after the scan is completed ..."<hr>
    The idea here, is it that then it must have used an original file from the CD to replace a corrupt but newer file and you have to check via WU?

    I think WFP can keep track of installed updates (since Windows Update is among the "Trusted Installers"), and if it asks for a CD media it probably should be because the protected file (that is corrupt) hasn't been replaced since RTM. But of course it could happen that updated files that are cached also get corrupt.

    Another <post:=645,506>post 645,506</post:> with a another link to MSFT about WFP, since Joe covered WRP.

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts

    Re: sfc /scannow (Vista Ultimate)

    braddy60,joe ,HansV,
    Hi and thank "you all" (a little southern lingo) (ALSL) for clearing that up. Although at this point in my computer education,i don't think i'll
    fool with that one now. (sfc/scannow) Regards Plain Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •