Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    106
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Class Entry Form (2K - SP3)

    I am creating a Db to track student attendance in classes. I have the following tables (tblCourseName, tblClasses, tblAttendance, tblStudents) and relationships (1:M tblCourseNames:tblClasses, 1:M tblClasses:tblAttendance, 1:M tblStudents:tblAttendance). How do I create a Form that will let me select a Student from tblStudents when someone registers for a class? The Form I currently have "Names In Class" will not let me select a student from a combo list. I am attaching a zipfile with screenshots of the query and form. I am a novice user so I will have a problem writing/understanding any code. I hope this is something that can be done fairly easily.

    Also, on another issue. When I am working in this Db, Access shuts down frequently. I have tried the compact/repair and creating a new blank Db and importing the tables, queries, etc. into that . It is still shutting down. Any other suggestions?

    Thank you in advance for your help.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Thanks,
    Caroline in lala-land

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Class Entry Form (2K - SP3)

    The main form should be based on tblClasses.
    The subform should be based on tblAttendance, or if you prefer on a query based on tblAttendance and tblStudents. You can use a combo box bound to intStudentID_FK in tblAttendance, with tblStudents as row source, to select a student in this subform.

    See <post#=364,203>post 364,203</post#> for an example of how to handle data entry for a many-to-many relationship with a main form and subform.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    106
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Class Entry Form (2K - SP3)

    Thank you Hans, I will try your recommendations. How do I "- Set the Subdatasheet Name property of all tables to [None]." as noted in your linked post?
    Thanks,
    Caroline in lala-land

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Class Entry Form (2K - SP3)

    Open a table in design view.
    Activate the Properties window (View | Properties).
    The Subdatasheet Name is about halfway down.
    You can select [None] from the dropdown list.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: gif x.gif (7.8 KB, 0 views)

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    106
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Class Entry Form (2K - SP3)

    Hans:

    Will making these changes to the subdatasheet and options help with the issue I am having with Access shutting down?
    Thanks,
    Caroline in lala-land

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Class Entry Form (2K - SP3)

    They might. Also turn off Track Name AutoCorrect Info in the General tab of Tools | Options. This setting is known to cause problems - see Microsoft Access Flaws - Failures caused by Name Auto-Correct and Microsoft Access Flaws - Problem properties.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    106
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Class Entry Form (2K - SP3)

    Thank you so much Hans! All of your suggestions worked! My class registration form works like a charm and Access quit shutting down!

    Woohoo!
    Thanks,
    Caroline in lala-land

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •