Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ohio - USA, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows Explorer (XP Professional)

    Is it possible for the Windows Explorer file to become corrupted. Recently, when I open Explorer and look for a particular file, I find it and double-click it. It can then take Explorer up to 2 minutes to open the application and then display its contents, and sometimes it just hangs up entirely and stops working. When that happens, I end up having to reboot because even if I just close Explorer, I run into other little funnies - like a page not displaying correctly in one of the other applications I've been running.

    So, I'm wondering if Explorer didn't become corrupted and whether I can fix it.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Windows Explorer (XP Professional)

    Have you checked in the Processes tab of Task Manager whether there is another process that is using a large amount of CPU time and/or memory?
    Are your security programs up-to-date and have you scanned your PC for malware?

    You could try the following:
    - Quit all applications.
    - Select Start | Run...
    - Type <code>sfc /scannow</code>
    - Press Enter or click OK.
    Windows will check for corrupt system files and replace them if necessary. You may be asked for your Windows XP CD.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,421
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Re: Windows Explorer (XP Professional)

    Me, I'd be tempted to run CHKDSK to see if the hard disk had problems.

    This assumes you just have the one partition, C:. Click on Start -> Run and then type CHKDSK C: /F /V /R into the box and press Enter. When the command prompt window comes up, saying that it can only do the CHKDSK after a reboot, reply Y. Reboot, and be prepared for the CHKDSK to take quite some time (probably several tens of minutes, depending on the hard disk size).
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ohio - USA, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Explorer (XP Professional)

    There's so much in there - and some of them eating up huge amounts of memory, I don't know waht to do with them. It almost seems, though, as though explorer is running in the background (or maybe more than one version?) because when I shut down the computer at night, I have to wait until explorer closes down (one of those, please End now if you don't want to wait messages) before the computer shuts all the way down?

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Windows Explorer (XP Professional)

    You can sort the entries in the Processes tab of Task Manager by clicking on a column heading - first time sorts ascending, second time descending. Are there processes that continually use more than a few % of the CPU? If so, which ones? And which processes take up the most memory?

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ohio - USA, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Explorer (XP Professional)

    Edited by HansV to replace Word attachment with the screenshot it contained - saves others a few mouse clicks

    I did a sort and here is what the top end and I've attached a screen print of the top half of it. I did try sfc /scannow. However, when it asked for my Windows XP Pro CD, I did not know what to choose from the options - the first of which was "Install Windows XP?" so I just exited and let the scan continue. That did not work.

    Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Windows Explorer (XP Professional)

    I don't see anything suspicious in the processes.

    Have you tried BATCher's suggestion?

    You could try a system restore to see if this solves the problem - see How to restore the operating system to a previous state in Windows XP.
    Or perform a repair installation of Windows XP - see How to perform an in-place upgrade (reinstallation) of Windows XP.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ohio - USA, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Explorer (XP Professional)

    I wanted to report that I did find the answer. Here is what corrected the problem:

    I opened Windows Explorer
    Chose Tools/Folder Options/View
    Under Files & Folders, there is an item labeled ďAutomatically Search Network Foldesrs and Printers.

    It was checked - I un-checked it

    Problem solved!! Since I did not do that (check it) on my own, I think what may have happened is that when I installed a program to help me to manage our office network (3 computers), that got checked during installation. I canít see where un-checking it would cause any problems on our network, but at least I know what I changed should that happen.

    Thanks again for your suggestions.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Windows Explorer (XP Professional)

    Unchecking that item will not cause a problem. It will usually speed up your system considerably. You should still be able to access anything you need to on your network. Windows Explorer will just not automatically search for network devices.

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Warrington, Cheshire, England
    Posts
    712
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Explorer (XP Professional)

    Well, I thank you! <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>
    I never knew about this parameter so, after reading about your problem and solution, I had a look at my Windows Explorer.
    Guess what? This was checked on my (stand alone) PC. Unchecking it has made W. Explorer speed up A LOT.
    Thanks again
    Silverback
    Silverback

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ohio - USA, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Explorer (XP Professional)

    So glad I could help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •