Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Baselines (MS Project 2000)

    First off, is there a way to tell when a task needs to be rebaselined? Some plans bring up the box to rebaseline the plan, but I can't tell which tasks need to be rebaselined.

    Where I work, the people want to save a baseline that is approved, and never change it again. Is project meant to be used like this? It seems to always want to rebaseline. Is there a way to make it not want to rebaseling?

    Thanks,
    Bithmus

  2. #2
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Baselines (MS Project 2000)

    Project baselines are meant to serve as a point of comparison, so that you can see how the current status of your project compares with your initial plans. So, yes your coworkers are correct. Once you have set a baseline - project will not ask you to do it again for that project. Or you can turn off the dialog box - it will never remind you to set a baseline on any project.
    A single baseline was not enough for people who were dealing with very long projects, so you can also save up to 10 Interim plans with a project.

    The term rebaselined is not a standard project term (sorry, I'm picky about that sort of thing <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>).
    Cheers
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Baselines (MS Project 2000)

    I agree that not changing the baseline is a good idea. But project does ask to update the baseline whenever a new task is added or a resource is added to a task. I have click the "Don't tell me about this again" button, but it keeps telling me. Is there another place I can set it to not show up?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Baselines (MS Project 2000)

    have you set a baseline on the file in question?
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Baselines (MS Project 2000)

    Yes, the baseline has been set. When I add a resource to a task, that resource will not have a baseline. I think that is why Project wants to update the baseline. The way the file is set up is, it is in a folder and everyone has read only access, and the team leads have write access. Could the update baseline box keep coming back because several people open it from different workstations?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Baselines (MS Project 2000)

    Hmmm - I don't know.
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •