Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Menus get messsed (2003 SP3)

    An application (I think PDF Typewriter) screws up my Word menus. Even worse, it causes Word to save in Word 97 format, which leads to all sorts of losses in formatting. I have written an AutoExec macro, "RestoreSetUp", (saved in Normal.dot) that sets up my menus etc correctly and fixes this mess, but the wayward application comes in after that and does itís ghastly stuff and Word still gets messed up.
    I have also tried to delay the AutoExec running of my code using:
    Application.OnTime Now + TimeValue("00:00:10"), "RestoreSetUp".
    But this 10 second delay makes no diff, the wayward code just runs after the delay.
    I have put a button on the menu bar from which I can run the code manually, but having it done automatically would be more fitting.
    I have tried repairing Office, no diff. I have un-installed and re-installed Office, no diff.
    I tried Phil Rabichow's post, but could not find anything that starts automatically, but obviously there at least 2 (I also have Acrobat).
    How can I get around this mess?
    Regards,
    Peter

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Menus get messsed (2003 SP3)

    You could make it an AutoOpen macro. This would run it many more times than necessary, but at least it would result from an activity you plan to do anyway. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    As for the problem with poorly designed add-ins, I think some loud complaints to the vendor would be in order.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Menus get messsed (2003 SP3)

    thanks for that. But doesn't an AutoOpen macro only works on docs it is attached to? So any time I open Word to make a new doc, it wouldn't run. As for the complaining part, I bet the number of complaints to Adobe is well into the 6 figure range, but they don't seem to care do they? However I will see if I can get a moan through to PDF Typewriter.
    Just a thought. Could the AutoExec open a doc with that AutoOpen code attached, then delete the doc?

    Just tried the above. Nope doesn't work, the rogue code still runs after the doc has closed. Very frustrating!
    Thanks again.
    Regards,
    Peter

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts

    Re: Menus get messsed (2003 SP3)

    Tell me again why you have PDF Typewriter loading? <img src=/S/anigrin.gif border=0 alt=anigrin width=19 height=19>

    Perhaps you could try fiddling the names of your add-ins. They might be running in alphabetical order so your earlier autoopen is superceded by the PDF's autoopen. What happens if you renamed your homegrown add-in to zz.dot
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Menus get messsed (2003 SP3)

    I don't want PDF Typewriter to load, but I can't stop it. I remove it from startup using Mike Lin's Startup Control. But just comes back again.
    Re-naming add-ins. I can't find any. Yet there must be at least 2.
    Regards,
    Peter

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Menus get messsed (2003 SP3)

    As far a I can tell, PDFtypewriter is not from Adobe, but from CT Developing: PDFtypewriter with PDF Printer Driver - CTdeveloping.com - Software for creating, editing, form filling, and more with PDF files.
    Can't you uninstall it from the Add or Remove Programs control panel?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts

    Re: Menus get messsed (2003 SP3)

    This link might help in uninstalling the Word addin component of this software
    http://www.ctdeveloping.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=8
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Menus get messsed (2003 SP3)

    Hi Hans. I still use PDFtypewriter, just want to get rid of their addons. PDFtypewriter great for altering PDF files including security locked PDF files.
    Regards,
    Peter

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Menus get messsed (2003 SP3)

    <hr>But doesn't an AutoOpen macro only works on docs it is attached to? So any time I open Word to make a new doc, it wouldn't run<hr>
    If you save AutoOpen in Normal.dot, it will run each time you open a document. When you create a new document, AutoOpen does not run. However, AutoNew will run.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Menus get messsed (2003 SP3)

    Thanks Andrew. Yes that looks like it enabled me to get rid of PDFtypewriter's addons.
    Alas the saving to Word 97 format is still with me. So either it mustn't have been PDFtypewriter, PDFtypewriter didn't really unload all it's addons, or it must be from some other addon.
    I still have Adobe Acrobat and ScanSoft's PDF Create loading.
    Regards,
    Peter

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Menus get messsed (2003 SP3)

    I tried that. I put a 'Stop' in the AutoOpen sub in Normal.dot, but the code didn't stop. So I guess it doesn't run when opening a new doc.
    Regards,
    Peter

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Menus get messsed (2003 SP3)

    Try Phil Rabichow's <!post=Systematic Approach to Behavioral Problems in Word,197827>Systematic Approach to Behavioral Problems in Word<!/post>.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Menus get messsed (2003 SP3)

    <hr>I put a 'Stop' in the AutoOpen sub in Normal.dot, but the code didn't stop. So I guess it doesn't run when opening a new doc.<hr>
    Correct. To target new documents, use AutoNew().

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •