Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

    Woody's slow to load

    Is it just me and my Comcast connection, or is the lounge loading slower. I don't seem to be having this problem with other sites though
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Woody's slow to load

    John,
    Seems like the "nature of the beast" syndrome.
    This seems to happen every so often and then it appears to "speed" up again.
    There has been discussion as to why this happens but I don't recall there ever being a definitive answer to it?

    Right at this time, I'm also experiencing slow loading of just the Lounge.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,203
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Woody's slow to load

    Me too, though i find that the 'Main Index' page is always the worst. It seems to load section by section and takes ages!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Woody's slow to load

    In its present incarnation, Woody's Lounge shares a server with a large number of websites, so the bandwidth available to us is dependent on how busy our neighbors are. The speed with which pages load is very variable, but it's been pretty bad lately. Sorry about that!

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Woody's slow to load

    Look at it this way, the Lounge loads a lot faster than when I was on a dial-up ISP! When I really get worried is when the Lounge doesn't load at all! <img src=/S/yikes.gif border=0 alt=yikes width=15 height=15>

    Long live the Lounge!


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Woody's slow to load

    " In its present incarnation ..."
    I don't know if we should take this as a ray of hope that things may change, but I suspect a change might be welcomed. The Lounge is the slowest site I now visit on a regular basis and this was not the case a year ago so something has changed. The Lounge is dedicated to dispensing information on how to make programs and computers work correctly and efficiently yet its website response is wanting - not a good advertisement.

    This preamble sets the background for the question:
    Are there any efforts On High in the Lounge to investigate a better setup? The simplest approach might be to go to the current ISP and ask for a higher minimum bandwidth for a reasonable increase in cost. They should know how the Lounge response time has changed and should be prepared to offer a new deal. If not, others providers might be so inclined.

    Just wondering,
    Paul

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Woody's slow to load

    I'll discuss your suggestions with the other Admins.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Woody's slow to load

    If clear the unread count for all sections by clicking on the red arrow (see attachment) that should speed up loading the main index.

    Joe
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Joe

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Burke, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Woody's slow to load

    Am in Fairfax, VA - USA.
    Just switched from COX Cable to Verizon FIOS on fibre. Everything including Lounge now faster. Lounge was fine on Cox though, at least for me.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Woody's slow to load

    Well,
    I am certainly glad to hear that it isn't just me, and am I glad to hear that they are working on it. I will do the unckeck thingy . Thanks Joe
    As for the switch from cable to ViOS you lucky man!
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Woody's slow to load

    Congratulations on getting fiber optic!

    During the periods that Woody's Lounge is functioning normally (as at this moment), having a faster internet connection will also increase the download speed for Lounge pages. But we do have a real problem - there are times when it is extremely slow for everyone, regardless of their internet connection. <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,203
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Woody's slow to load

    <hr>If clear the unread count for all sections by clicking on the red arrow (see attachment) that should speed up loading the main index. <hr>

    That seems to have made a definate improvement........ Or is it just a good time of day <img src=/S/question.gif border=0 alt=question width=15 height=15>

    p.s. Lounge content is far more important than speed...

    <hr>Long live the lounge!!<hr>

    Here Here!! <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Woody's slow to load

    Although there have been a few relatively slow periods, performance seems better today than it was during the previous days. Let's hope it stays that way! <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16>

  14. #14
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,203
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Woody's slow to load

    <hr>In its present incarnation, Woody's Lounge shares a server with a large number of websites, so the bandwidth available to us is dependent on how busy our neighbors are. <hr>
    I'm glad you say that, as the number of users in the lounge at any given time never appears (to me anyway) to be the cause. Yesterday for example being a Sunday and in my experience always generally pretty quiet in the lounge, was one of the slowest I've ever noticed. There may be only a small handful of people online, yet the lounge can crawl to a near standstill.

  15. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Woody's slow to load

    Dear Allan,
    Re: FiOS.
    What is the interface between your computer and the FiOS cable?
    Are you still limited by the two wire copper transmission rate between your computer and the fiber optic cable?
    Does the fiber optic cable actually connect to a modem next to your computer?
    What dodwnload speed are you getting?
    Best regards,
    Slim

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •