5 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Advice for a graduate

My daughter, who is a talented artist, is graduating shortly from a prestigious liberal arts university with a double major in art history and studio art. However, she has no training in graphic art software (Photo Shop, Illustrator, inDesign, etc.). I believe she should now take courses in these and perhaps other graphic programs, which I believe will open up new career opportunities. I am not an artist and have only limited skills in Photo Shop (the most difficult program I have ever tried to learn). I would appreciate suggestions as to what software she should tackle. She has a successful website with cards and calendars that have attracted interest and orders form all over the world. I have a feeling that adding graphic skills will open new opportunities.

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Advice for a graduate

HP run a range of free online training courses that include some in graphics software.

I don't work with such software much and have never tried Photoshop because of the price. But my feeling is that you choose one to learn and stick with it. At the higher end, they would all be similar in terms of functionality (and therefore the end product)

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks

You will most likely get different recommendations from responders because there are quite a few good programs out there. Three of the suppliers of professional level programs used by many in the graphics design industry are Corel, Adobe and Xara. With their offerings the user will probably be limited by his/her's artistic and/or design talent rather than by the software.