Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    VISTA SP 1 (Vista Ultimate Sp 1)

    After installing Vista Ultimate and going through the slow and painful process of installing the 45 to 50 "important and recommended" Hotfix Updates, dutifully rebooting when asked, It finally said that SP 1 was ready to be installed.
    DISASTERVILLE!
    The file itself is huge and takes a long time to install and configure. ( assuming all goes well ) Obviously, something was fighting with the update. I hadn't seen so many BSOD's since Windows 95 days! All types and errors! Couldn't figure out what was doing it.
    So, I finally gave up and contacted a MS tech rep. He suggested the following procedure and it worked like a champ! <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16> Now all updated OK.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Step 1: Download Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Standalone Installer

    ================================================== =

    1. Download Windows Vista SP1 from the link below according to your System Type:

    Windows Vista Service Pack 1 for Windows Vista 32-bit (Size: 434.5MB)

    FROM HERE

    Windows Vista Service Pack 1 for Windows Vista 64-bit (Size: 726.5MB)

    FROM HERE


    2. Save it on the Desktop.


    Step 2: Install Windows Vista SP1 in Clean Boot mode

    ========================================

    Disable all startup items and third party services when booting to avoid conflict when installing Vista SP1:


    1. Click "Start", type: MSCONFIG in the search box and press Enter.


    Note: Please click "Continue" if the "User Account Control" window pops up.


    2. Click "Services", check the "Hide All Microsoft Services" box and click "Disable All" (if it is not gray).

    3. Click "Startup", click "Disable All" and click "OK".


    Note: Temporarily disabling the Startup Group only prevents the startup programs from loading at startup. This shouldn't affect the system or other programs. We can manually run these programs later.


    4. Please double click the downloaded Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Standalone Installer and follow the instructions to install Windows Vista SP1.

    To restore the computer to use a Normal Startup, repeat step 1 above. Then click "Normal Startup" on the General tab, click "OK", and then restart the computer.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Hope this can save some other frustrated lounger from some grief!
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: VISTA SP 1 (Vista Ultimate Sp 1)

    Glad you got it worked out. Your experience is why I NEVER let a service pack be installed by Windows/Microsoft update. Microsoft have always seemed to have many issues with the installer via WU. Fortunately, I did not have to go to the "clean boot" extreme to get SP-1 to install correctly.

    Now you get to go onto bigger & better things. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    San Bernardino, California, USA
    Posts
    734
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VISTA SP 1 (Vista Ultimate Sp 1)

    How do you do step 2?

    Step 2: Install Windows Vista SP1 in Clean Boot mode

    ========================================

    Disable all startup items and third party services when booting to avoid conflict when installing Vista SP1:

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VISTA SP 1 (Vista Ultimate Sp 1)

    Don. Step 2 consists of following the procedure below to disable all startup items and third party services when booting to avoid conflict when installing Vista SP1:


    1. Click "Start", type: MSCONFIG in the search box and press Enter.


    Note: Please click "Continue" if the "User Account Control" window pops up.


    2. Click "Services", check the "Hide All Microsoft Services" box and click "Disable All" (if it is not gray).

    3. Click "Startup", click "Disable All" and click "OK".


    Note: Temporarily disabling the Startup Group only prevents the startup programs from loading at startup. This shouldn't affect the system or other programs. We can manually run these programs later.

    4. Reboot and start the installation of SP1.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: VISTA SP 1 (Vista Ultimate Sp 1)

    One should be very careful about disabling all non-Microsoft services. If a notebook is involved there are likely to be several non-Microsoft services for various pieces of hardware such as the touchpad and networking. If the touchpad is needed you could be in big trouble. Better to try to identify the non-MS services first.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: VISTA SP 1 (Vista Ultimate Sp 1)

    Joe,
    I suppose that could be a problem but I didn't have any with this on my Desktop.
    Finally enabled me to get SP1 installed.

    Those steps were direct from the Tech Support person at MS. <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: VISTA SP 1 (Vista Ultimate Sp 1)

    John,
    Thanks for giving Don the clarification. Just now got a chance to look back into the Lounge and spotted his question.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VISTA SP 1 (Vista Ultimate Sp 1)

    Joe. Using a USB mouse on a laptop should work around the disabled touchpad. Yes?

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: VISTA SP 1 (Vista Ultimate Sp 1)

    Maybe. USB devices can be a little strange sometimes. Can't hurt to try it though. If the mouse is not a Microsoft mouse it may still work but with only very basic funtionality. That would be all you'd need anyway to get SP-1 installed. There's always keyboard navigation too.

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: VISTA SP 1 (Vista Ultimate Sp 1)

    As I said before, glad it worked for you. I was just trying to give anyone else a "head's up" on disabling all non-MS drivers and the possible issues with notebooks. If that's what it takes for anyone else to get SP-1 installed then go for it. All I did was disable my A/V (and I'm not sure I needed to), shutdown all apps, and the install went fine.

    Of course, all AFTER a complete backup.

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    San Bernardino, California, USA
    Posts
    734
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VISTA SP 1 (Vista Ultimate Sp 1)

    Thanks a lot. The steps you list are the same as your original post. I thought those were steps to be performed AFTER step 2. Thanks for the clarification.

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ashmore, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: VISTA SP 1 (Vista Ultimate Sp 1)

    Sincere thanks for this advice. I had twice tried to install SP1 (using Windows Update) on a Dell (after updating drivers for the Sigmatel sound card and Logitech webcam)- and ended up with an unbootable system which would not boot even with various boot CDs I had created. A system file (acpi.exe, was missing).
    Having restored successfully with an Acronis TI image, I took the chance using your recommendations.
    One piece of advice I can add- after 3 hours the screen was showing "logging off" and stayed that way for a few hours. I left the machine in this state overnight-waking to find the same message.
    I left it for another few hours and when nothing had changed, powered down with the power button and expected to have to reinstall from my freshly made image. However the machine booted successfully and showed that the SP1 upgrade had succeeded. All data and program files intact.
    So may I add patience to the recipe- the install took much longer than usual, and even if it appears stuck at the last step, you can be lucky!

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: VISTA SP 1 (Vista Ultimate Sp 1)

    Dianne,
    Glad it worked out for you.
    I was about to the point of using the MS DVD as a "skeet" target but then my stubbornness kicked in and it worked fine. I don't think I would have been as patient as you were waiting to log off. <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ashmore, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: VISTA SP 1 (Vista Ultimate Sp 1)

    One more quirky issue-I downloaded both the ISO image (successfully burned to a DVD) and the standalone installer. I was unable to install SP1 from the DVD, but succeeded with the standalone x86 file.
    As they say, go figure!

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: VISTA SP 1 (Vista Ultimate Sp 1)

    You've got me on that one! One of the mysteries of life, I suppose? <img src=/S/confused3.gif border=0 alt=confused3 width=45 height=45> <img src=/S/burga.gif border=0 alt=burga width=40 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •