Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Processor Speed

  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    541
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Processor Speed

    A friend has mislaid the original documentation for a Win95 PC. How can you find what speed CPU it has?

  2. #2
    zeus
    Guest

    Re: Processor Speed

    There is no requirement to know the cpu speed.

    I am curious, what ram does he have, how big the hard drive?

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    541
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Processor Speed

    There IS a requirement to know the Processor speed. Apart from natural curiosity he wants to know if his PC meets the minimum system requirements to install Access2000 Premium. According to Microsoft there are minimums for processor, RAM and disk space. I know how to find RAM and free disk space, but not processor speed.

  4. #4
    zeus
    Guest

    Re: Processor Speed

    Click start, select "run".

    Type in dxdiag

    The first page shows the processor and speed, if detected.

    There is a program called "Sandra" that reads system info.
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.sisoftware.demon.co.uk/sandra/>http://www.sisoftware.demon.co.uk/sandra/</A>

    Norton Utilities will tell you as well.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Processor Speed

    Right-click "My Computer" (or whatever your friend may have renamed it). Select "Properties". The processor speed is named on the first tab of the resulting dialog.

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    541
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Processor Speed

    I have two PCs, one running Win95 and one Win98. I have right-clicked "My Computer" and selected Properties. On neither machine is the processor speed shown.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Processor Speed

    Funny, works for me. It's on the first tab in the section headed, "Computer".

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Processor Speed

    I think this method only works with enhancements to the operating system. I'm running an "almost clean" Windows ME system at home, and it only tells me it's PIII. At work, I have a Windows 98 SE computer, it also only shows the PIII label.

    If you're quick enough, you can see the processor speed at boot up, right before the Windows splash screen.

    Depending on your BIOS level, you may find it in there.
    Christopher Baldrey

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •