Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Harpenden, Hertfordshire, England
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Vista SP1 not offered (Vista )

    Is there a tool anywhere to identify what drivers are stopping Vista SP1 installing? I have been through KB948343 and updated my drivers - the only one I could identify from the list is the Conexant HD Audio, where my driver is up to date and version 4.36.7.60 (the article objects to 4.32.0.0 or earlier). I am not running Microsoft Dynamics RMS. Still Windows Update is not offering SP1. The PC is a HP Pavilion dv2535ea laptop, running Vista Home Premium.

    The reason for wanting to update is that I am suffering from fairly frequent BSODs - I do not want to install SP1 with a driver out there that just recreates the BSOD problem elsewhere.

    Chris Bunton

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Vista SP1 not offered (Vista )

    Check the OEM web site of your machine. You will need the make and model, but most OEM's have many updates.

    You should be getting the machine updates from the OEM not Microsoft.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Harpenden, Hertfordshire, England
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista SP1 not offered (Vista )

    Dave

    Thanks - I will have another go through HP, but I thought their tool said I was fully patched.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Baerum, Norway
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Vista SP1 not offered (Vista )

    Hei Dave,
    I also have HP laptop with Vista HP. I was waiting for a long time to get the SP1 offered/ English language. Two things that I also did (which did finally give me SP1) was to update the BIOS from the HP Drivers page and also to set the Windows Update to 'automatic' ... I usually have it set to 'let me decide' per the Woody advice. However recently somewhere in the back of my mind I seem to recall that MS have stopped offering SP1 just now but I can't recall where I think I read this ... but maybe I only got this idea in dreamtime.

    Good luck ... I was very pleased with the MS SP1 ease of download and install .

    Ron
    I should have added that the HP Health Check and the HP Update do not seem to function very well (didn't for me and others have also had problems) so its really a matter of going direct to the HP Driver Update page etc
    <img src=/S/aussie.gif border=0 alt=aussie width=21 height=22> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Baerum, Norway
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Vista SP1 not offered (Vista )

    I should have added that the HP Health Check and the HP Update software (if you have these installed) do not seem to function very well (others have had problems) so its a matter of going direct to the HP Driver/Software Update page for you pc and any others.
    Ron
    <img src=/S/aussie.gif border=0 alt=aussie width=21 height=22> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Harpenden, Hertfordshire, England
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista SP1 not offered (Vista )

    Thanks. I have just been on HP Update and got everything it offered (which was only a security patch to itself!). I also looked at the direct driver site, but was somewhat put off by a long list of drivers, starting with one for the problematic Conexant HD Audio that was version 4.19 - while anything up to 4.32 causes problems. Fills me with all sorts of confidence!

    I have emailed HP to see what they have to say, and if that does not work I'll have a look at the BIOS update.

    Chris

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    336
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Vista SP1 not offered (Vista )

    Just checking: Have you installed all the updates offered on Windows Update, even the ones labeled as optional? I had a problem similar to yours. I had an incompatible video driver, and the OEM didn't have a new one until last week. Finally, after I installed the new driver, I expected to see SP-1 offered, but it wasn't. However, there was one update (Group Policy Preference Client Side Extensions for Windows Vista (KB943729)) that I hadn't installed because it was labeled "optional" and because I didn't see a need for it. But I then installed it anyway, and then SP-1 was offered. So apparently it wasn't really "optional" if you wanted SP-1.

    Incidentally, after I installed SP-1 I experienced a whole range of problems, mostly related to display, but they all went away after I rebooted 3 or 4 times.

    Fafner

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Harpenden, Hertfordshire, England
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista SP1 not offered (Vista )

    Thanks Fafner. I have installed everything that WU offers other than Silverlight, (or whatever it is called), and that can't be an issue. I have had an exchange with HP in which, after an initial dumbkopf reply, they recommended a BIOS update. I will do that, hopefully later today, and see whether it gets me any further.

    Chris

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Harpenden, Hertfordshire, England
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista SP1 not offered (Vista )

    OK - so I flashed the BIOS and I still am not offered Vista SP1. I'm back onto HP support (and their bad english), so I'll see what happens next.

    Still getting the Vista BSODs though!

    Chris

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Vista SP1 not offered (Vista )

    Chris,

    See my thread <post#=711,188>post 711,188</post#>. It was the only way I finally got SP1 installed after MANY BSODs and frustrations.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Harpenden, Hertfordshire, England
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista SP1 not offered (Vista )

    Bob

    Thanks for the routine - I may yet do that, but I am a bit nervous that I have a crook driver that might trip me over when I install.

    HP say that MS have withdrawn SP1 because of the problems, but I have not seen anything to that effect, so I suspect a smoke screen. Anyone got any definitive answers?

    Chris

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista SP1 not offered (Vista )

    Automatic distribution of SP1 was suspended while MS fixed a reboot bug. Apparently the fix is installed before the installation of the Vista Servicing Stack Update.

  13. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Harpenden, Hertfordshire, England
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista SP1 not offered (Vista )

    John

    Are you getting at the suspension in Feb? I thought that was long since resolved. Microsoft site says it is available through WU, and has not been changed since late April.

    Chris

  14. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista SP1 not offered (Vista )

    It was resolved in April. KB949939 refers.

  15. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Harpenden, Hertfordshire, England
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista SP1 not offered (Vista )

    John

    Thanks - that's what I thought. I will have a try at installing that patch manually - it should have come down automatically but I cannot see it on the list I have, but that will have to wait till I get back tomorrow. Meanwhile, HP are still insisting that SP1 has been pulled from Windows Update.

    Need I say more?

    Chris

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •