Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Combo Box for Searching (Access 2007)

    I'm slowly converting to Access 07 and have run into a brick wall. On a form that contains thousands of items and you want to search for 1, in Access 03 you'd put a combo box on the form and, using the wizard, choose option 3 and follow the remaining steps. Still works fine with 03 but doesn't work on 07. Any ideas would be appreciated.
    Bob

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

    Re: Combo Box for Searching (Access 2007)

    I don't have Access 2007, but according to How to move to a specific record from a Combo Box selection in Microsoft Access it should work there too. See Method 1, Step 2 for details on how to invoke the Combo Box Wizard in Access 2007.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger SteveH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chelsea, Gtr London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    587
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combo Box for Searching (Access 2007)

    One little gotcha which is not well known is that your recordsource for the form must be a table or a saved query. If it is an SQL statement the wizard does not offer you option 3 (at least that is how it was in 2003).
    Steve H
    IT Lecturer/Access Developer
    O2K SR3/O2010; Win7Pro

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Combo Box for Searching (Access 2007)

    Steve's comment is still true with 2007.

    The wizard only offers the third option if the record source of the form is a saved query or table.
    Regards
    John



  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combo Box for Searching (Access 2007)

    Thanks for all your input gentlemen. However, I overlooked one item in Access 2007; I forgot to change the setting in the "new" Security Bar to "Enable this Content". Now all three options for the Combo Box work.
    Regards
    Bob W

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •