Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    More ShadowProtect And Dual Boot

    I'm about to embark on a little test with ShadowProtect and I thought I'd mention it to see if any of our few other Loungers using the product have any suggestions or warnings for me. You may know that I'm now running XP MCE and Vista Ultimate on a two physical drive, dual boot configuration. So far, SP is only installed in the XP drive and I've been running weekly full and nightly incremental images, FROM XP, of both the XP and Vista drives. On two occasions I've done a full restore of Vista, while running XP, meaning I DID NOT have to use the boot CD to do the restore of Vista. Doing it from inside XP worked perfectly in both instances.

    Now, I'm about to ALSO install ShadowProtect on my Vista installation and according to the erstwhile Nate of the SP forums, that should work just fine, even if it doesn't allow me to "activate" the SP in Vista. What I want to test is whether I can do a full restore of the XP drive while running Vista, thereby eliminating the need for using the boot CD. You should know that I have no problems with using the boot CD and it works just fine. I'm just a curious sort and being able to do restores from within the OS is so much quicker and easier that I'd like to know if I can do the same thing from either side of the fence.

    This morning when I restored Vista, it took less than 15 minutes to do the job and all I had to do was boot to Vista to make sure the restore went well, and it did. More later... On to an install and attempted "activate."

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: More ShadowProtect And Dual Boot

    Al,
    I think your "test" should work just fine - at least for the first 30 days. As you won't be able to activate the Vista installation (unless of course you de-activate the XP installation), you really won't know for at least a month (after the trial period) whether or not your procedure will continue to work.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: More ShadowProtect And Dual Boot

    Al,
    A slight sidestep.

    I have done a few <big>Images</big> of my Vista OS using True Image. It has allowed me to create the image of my D drive, without having to boot to the CD, even though the D drive was the active drive and Vista was running at the time. It seems to me using it from within XP required me to reboot to the CD because XP was the active partition.

    Now it will do the image of the active partition with no requirement for using the boot CD. I don't know if this also will work on a restore or not, but the change was evident doing an Image.
    Of course, we are talking about True Image here not Shadow Protect. Can't answer that because I don't have Shadow Protect.
    Doesn't answer your question but FYI.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: More ShadowProtect And Dual Boot

    Boy, that would make me nervous enough to check the integrity of those images to see if you can view any files. I can't imagine how it could do anything on the active partition, unless it's possibly confused by the fact that it's the D: drive.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,573
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: More ShadowProtect And Dual Boot

    You would not be able to restore an active partition nor would you want to. TrueImage would not be able to lock files that are in use to be able to overwrite them. The whole purpose of the boot CD is to allow you to restore the whole partition without worrying about files being locked. You should be able to restore individual files that are not in use.

    You can backup an active partition because of the Windows capabilities introduced with Shadow Copy capabilities introduced in Widows XP SP-1. See Shadow Copy - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia, Selected Scenarios for Maintaining Data Integrity with Windows Vista, and What Is Volume Shadow Copy Service? for more information.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: More ShadowProtect And Dual Boot

    Al,
    I DID check the integrity of those images and I DID restore them to the D drive fine. This was restoring the entire D partition. Thinking about the restore part, it would work because when TI restores a full partition, it first blows away the old partition in order to make the full restore. Of course, there is a reboot involved but not using the boot CD.
    I looked at individual files in those backup images and they seemed to be OK but I did not try any individual file restores, just FULL restores.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: More ShadowProtect And Dual Boot

    Joe,
    See my post to AL, above.
    Restoring the ENTIRE active partition is possible because of the image creating and using a new partition. I've done it a number of times but this was the first time that I noticed the ability to make a backup image of the active partition without having to reboot to do it.

    Exactly HOW it does this, I don't know but I was never able to do it with XP, only now with Vista.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: More ShadowProtect And Dual Boot

    As I think we all knew would happen, I got an email response from them today that says:
    <hr>Under our licensing a computer = hardware and OS. In your situation you have the same hardware but are running two different OS's. Since the dual boot restore is complicated enough we would require you to purchase another license if you wanted to install it on your other Operating System. Note: on restore both of these operating systems must be restored together otherwise the restore process becomes incredibly complicated. <hr>
    Knowing the futility of my effort, I nonetheless sent a reply that included this text:
    <hr>I'm really sorry to hear that. I think that requiring two licenses at your prices is quite unfair and I would like to request that you "buck" this email UP the management chain to let people know how a customer feels. I do not have two computers - I have one, with two hard drives.

    And if you check your forum you will see that I made a recent post saying that it's NOT complicated at all. I make weekly images of each drive, SEPARATELY, and nightly incrementals of each drive. I have already had to restore the Vista drive TWICE and it was easy, fast and very smooth - NOT COMPLICATED at all. I know you're inferring that the complication is inside the software, but that can't be true either and you or your software shouldn't care. I'm asking ShadowProtect to restore from this image to that hard drive and it is responding perfectly! <hr>
    Obviously there's nothing more to be said and I won't be trying, but at $80 bucks a pop, I won't be buying two licenses either! I do have the CD, so this is all (technically) a moot point, simply "exercise" for my fingers... <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •