Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    volume icon (Vista Ultimate)

    Hi

    Somehow my 'speaker' icon in the Notification tray disappeared. How do I get it back?

    It is greyed out in the properties.

    Regards

    Braddy
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: volume icon (Vista Ultimate)

    Does the thread starting at <post:=661,105>post 661,105</post:> help?

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: volume icon (Vista Ultimate)

    Hi Hans

    Thanks for the reply, the thread was not helpful to me. The culprit was Vista Service Pack 1, I did a system restore and everthing went back to normal.

    Regards

    Braddy
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: volume icon (Vista Ultimate)

    "The culprit was Vista Service Pack 1" - <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15> .......... strange. I've applied SP1 to two different machines now and in neither case did the volume icon disappear. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: volume icon (Vista Ultimate)

    Did you use Windows Update or downloaded the FULL SP1 file?

    If it was NOT Windows Update then your sound driver may NOT be SP1 ready!

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: volume icon (Vista Ultimate)

    Since when does a driver have to be service-pack ready? <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: volume icon (Vista Ultimate)

    One of the reasons that SP-1 is not distributed via WU is driver compatibilty. See Windows Vista Service Pack 1 is not available for installation from Windows Update and is not offered by Automatic Updates for a list of audio (and other) drivers that require an update.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: volume icon (Vista Ultimate)

    Er, thanks. <img src=/S/hiding.gif border=0 alt=hiding width=70 height=24>

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: volume icon (Vista Ultimate)

    Hi Dave

    I used the Windows Update, I have used the full SP1 and installed with no problem, this was a re-install, but I noticed on the MS website it said don't download this if it is for a single machine, use window update, so I did.

    and that's when I got the problem.

    Regards

    Braddy
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: volume icon (Vista Ultimate)

    Hi Dave

    I have now downloaded the full SP1 and installed, and as the attachment shows the sound icon is still greyed out in the properies.

    Regards

    Braddy
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: volume icon (Vista Ultimate)


  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: volume icon (Vista Ultimate)

    Hi Hans

    I went to the site you suggested downloaded trayicon.reg, this did not work, however I opened the file in a text box to read and entered as below manually.

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVe rsionPoliciesExplorer]
    "NoTrayItemsDisplay"=-

    and it worked perfectly.

    Thanks very much these things can be most frustrating, where would we be without the Lounge?

    Braddy
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: volume icon (Vista Ultimate)

    I have always used the "properties" of the sound card to turn on the Icon in the notification area. That is where I thought it was grayed out at.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: volume icon (Vista Ultimate)

    Hi Dave

    How does one find the properties of the sound card?

    Regards

    Braddy
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: volume icon (Vista Ultimate)

    On my XP machine it it is Control Panel, Sounds and Audio devices and there is a check box on the Volume tab.
    My Vista machine is not powered up at this time.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •