I have a folder on our server (Windows server 2003) setup to work offline on my Vista notebook. I was working in this folder, with status of 'online'. I had a Word file open all morning. Someone in the office then opened the file. They were _not_ informed that the file was already open, instead, they were permitted to save changes. When I later went to save changes I was told that the file was in use.

Does anyone know what is going on here? I thought that working online meant that the system would have the file locked for me. Is there a way of ensuring that this happens?