Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Context Menu New Items (Home Premium)

    Is here any way to hide or reduce the number of items in the "New..." Context men?

    I'm sitting right now with 15 of them, only 4 of which do I use.

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Context Menu New Items (Home Premium)

    Give us a screen shot, as I get different numbers based on where I am at.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Context Menu New Items (Home Premium)

    Dave:

    Here ya go:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Context Menu New Items (Home Premium)

    Dave:

    Bob had answered this post --
    ------------------
    Bob Archell replied to your post on the Windows Vista board at Woodys:
    'Context Menu New Items (Home Premium)'.
    DO NOT REPLY TO THIS EMAIL! Click the next line to go to the Lounge:
    http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/showthread...a&Number=714009

    Open up the Context Menu and:
    1) Highlight one of your 4 favourites
    2) Left click and drag it above the horizontal line. This will leave it in a permanent placement
    3) Right click on any blank area and select properties. This should bring up the Start Menu tab where you can select Customize. Change the Number of recent items to display to a desired value (1?)

    Click OK and exit.

    Repeat items 1 and 2 above for your other favourites

    Cheers, Bob
    ----------------------
    But it (the link) cannot find the post, and it obviously isn't here.

    But the suggestion didn't seem to work. The items wouldn't drag/move.

    I'm gonna go look and see if I can find Bob's profile/e-mail.

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Context Menu New Items (Home Premium)

    The problem here is that BOB is talking about Recent programs and you are asking about the context menu when one right clicks within Windows Explorer.

    As far as I can tell, Bob's post has been deleted, after the email was sent.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Context Menu New Items (Home Premium)

    Upon further review Bob probably realized he was posting about the Start Menu and you are asking about the context menu. Check out ShellMenuView - Disable/enable context menu items of Explorer, FileMenu Tools, & bartdart.com -- contextmenu editor.

    BTW, don't you have X-Setup Pro? Check Appearance | File & Folders | "New" Context Menu. That appears to do pretty much what you want.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Context Menu New Items (Home Premium)

    Dave and Joe...

    I was addressing the Start Menu properties and after posting the message, I realized my error in that Chuck was looking for a solution to the Context Menu. I did delete my posting so as not to clutter up the thread but not before it was sent to Chuck.

    I'll try to be more careful before shooting myself in the foot...

    Cheers, Bob
    Regards,
    Bob

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Context Menu New Items (Home Premium)

    Thanks guys.

    Joe, thanks, I'll check out the links.

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Context Menu New Items (Home Premium)

    Guys:

    I haven't installed/tried the latest X-Setup as yet, but the links so far do not address the "New" items menu.

    Oh well, thanks though.

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Context Menu New Items (Home Premium)


  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Context Menu New Items (Home Premium)

    Leif:

    THAT did it!

    Thanks. AAMOF, all you need to do is put a period in front of the "ShellNew" key, and the "new document type" disappears from the context menu.

    Thanks again.

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Context Menu New Items (Home Premium)

    Good to hear, and thanks for posting back with the tip.

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Context Menu New Items (Home Premium)

    It was the least I could do Leif, after all the help I had from everyhone getting there.

    I haven't quite got the hang of adding to the "New" menu yet... Too bad they did away with the TweakUI version where you could just drop sample file on the "pad" and it was added automatically!

    Thanks again, Leif.

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •