Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dundee, Scotland
    Posts
    404
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IE5.5 toolbar (win98/5.5 sp1(i think))

    Hi,

    My problem is that no matter what I do, my IE button bar buttons are so wide that the last couple of buttons disappear off the right hand edge of the window.

    I've tried all combination I can think of of text/no text small icons/large icons to no avail.

    Help
    John (Unreconstructed Jacobite)

  2. #2
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE5.5 toolbar (win98/5.5 sp1(i think))

    Hi
    What resolution are you using? Try setting it (RClick blank part of desktop/Properties/Settings) to the next one UP.

    Rgds

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dundee, Scotland
    Posts
    404
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE5.5 toolbar (win98/5.5 sp1(i think))

    Thanks for replying.
    But I've realised that I've not given enough details..
    <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39>

    My IE at work is fine on the same resolution on the same size monitor, (15 inch, 800x600) with the buttons being (feeling foolish, I grab a ruler and measure the buttons off the screen...) about 2cm (3/4 inch) across.

    At home, the same buttons are at least twice that.

    They've been like that since I started using thefreeinternet as my ISP. An upgrade to 5.5 sp1 didn't help.

    Is that better? <img src=/S/grovel.gif border=0 alt=grovel width=31 height=23>
    John (Unreconstructed Jacobite)

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE5.5 toolbar (win98/5.5 sp1(i think))

    When you customise the toolbar, you have an option to put the button text to the right or underneath.
    Obviously, with it to the right they will be wider.....

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dundee, Scotland
    Posts
    404
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE5.5 toolbar (win98/5.5 sp1(i think))

    Answer Leif, but no, that's not what I've done. The buttons look exactly as they should, but widely spaced. The nearest analogy I can think of is the appearance you used to get with old time word processors when full justification was turned on, and three words on the line...
    John (Unreconstructed Jacobite)

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE5.5 toolbar (win98/5.5 sp1(i think))

    I was wondering if it was a 'customised' version you downloaded from your ISP?

    Otherwise, check out
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/Q198/0/45.ASP>Q198045</A> How to Install and Use Web Accessories in Internet Explorer 5
    - this will enable you to make a custom toolbar which may perform a little friendlier.

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dundee, Scotland
    Posts
    404
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE5.5 toolbar (win98/5.5 sp1(i think))

    Hi Leif,

    Not a customised version, BUT using my ISP dialler runs IE with no respect for homepage settings, and the toolbar wallpaper tool from Microsoft won't retain it's settings. Something's going on, but I've no idea what...
    John (Unreconstructed Jacobite)

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE5.5 toolbar (win98/5.5 sp1(i think))

    OK - are you happy poking around in the registry?
    If so, have a look at
    HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftInternet ExplorerToolbar
    We may need to do a comparison with a similar setup (sorry - don't have W98 here) to see if anything is amiss.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •