Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Styles Problem

  1. #1
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Styles Problem

    Hi,

    It sounds like you've got a good setup.
    A couple of questions:

    When you say "once a new document is opened", do you specifically mean "once an existing document is opened", or "once a new document is created"?

    If you've only just added these styles to your Firm.dot, then any existing documents based on Firm.dot, that were created prior to the time you put the new styles into Firm.dot, will not have these styles, and therefore the apply style menus will have no effect. If that's the case you can get the new styles into the existing documents, either via the Organizer or via the Templates and Add-Ins dialog.

    If you've already got the styles in your existing documents, and the apply styles menus are not working, then I'm stumped, and I hope someone else can think of another idea!

    Gary

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida, USA
    Posts
    901
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Styles Problem

    I suspect Word's hierarchy may be getting in your way. Your set-up is excellent, as Gary said... I was admiring it while he was posting.

    I was thinking, if you automate the button to attach the template before the accessing the styles. Just be aware, if anyone of those beautiful users alters the style, then saves it as part of their normal... it will override your firm's defaults.

    I have a ppt presentation at work I could send you which illustrate's Word's hierarchy. If you're interested, send me a private post. I'll get it to you in the next day or so.
    Karen

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Styles Problem

    Using Word 2000 SR-1 - new to the board - might be too much info but wanted to explain it.

    Currently all our users share the same templates and macros. The workgroup templates are on the network. We have a template called firm.dot In the firm.dot we created a firm toolbar where we keep some of the firms macros. Firm.dot is pushed down to each workstation when the user logs on. (c:windowsapplication datawordstartup)

    The Problem:

    I want to create a styles dropdown menu on the toolbar where I can put specialized styles. When I create the styles and place them on the firm's toolbar in the firm.dot it works great. I did make sure it saved to firm.dot and not normal.dot.

    Once a new document is created the toolbar is there everything works great except the styles. When I click on a style I get nothing.

    Any clues.

    I would appreciate any advice.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Styles Problem

    Docs created by the users may be based on their individual Normal.dot templates. The Firm.dot may only be used for toolbars, macros etc which do not have to be in individual docs.

    If so, rather than a drop-down styles toolbar you will need to create something which would run a macro when a style was selected. The macro would copy the style from firm.dot to the current document. It would then apply that style to the current para.

    I do not think you can make a drop down list that looks quite like the one you use for styles. You may need to consider a drop-down menu or a dialogue box with radio buttons.
    David Grugeon
    Brisbane Australia

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Styles Problem

    Hi David,

    I think you're on to something. My initial response to pife's message assumed that Firm.dot was being used as a workgroup template, for the purpose of creating new documents.

    Now I've gone and read the template path for Firm.dot more carefully, and see it's in Startup, so that it's functioning as a global template, and very likely users are not creating their new documents based on it.

    You're absolutely right that the global template should be used to provide "environment" settings such as toolbars and macros, but it can't provide the styles.

    For that, workgroup templates need to be provided - these are the ones users should access via File/New, and this is where the firm's styles should be stored. If the styles are stored in these templates and imparted to new documents created based on them, then the "apply styles" menus that are in the global Firm.dot should work fine (although the global template will also need to contain a set of the styles, in order for the menu to work).

    If possible, the Normal.dots should be left alone as a place for individuals' customizations to be stored, and nothing more. Of course, if all new documents are being created based on Normal.dot, then a means needs to be found for getting the style definitions into each user's Normal.dot.

    Gary

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida, USA
    Posts
    901
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Styles Problem

    [img]/w3timages/icons/sad.gif[/img]<big>Sorry</big>[img]/w3timages/icons/shy.gif[/img] -- I can't get the ppt out -- even zipped it's too big to go thru our Exchange settings. I apologize to those who've sent posts asking for a copy.

    I will, however, try to recreate in a simple text-type format and include under a separate thread in this forum.
    Karen

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Styles Problem

    Is it possible in your situation to have a maintenance routine that copies all the firm.dot styles to all the workgroup templates? It would be an administrative duty for you to recopy them when new ones are added or updates are needed. But it would end the whole issue. Every document based on every template would have the styles in the Style dropdown. And if those workgroup templates are on a read only LAN folder "beautiful users" could not alter the styles.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Styles Problem

    In line with David's suggestion, instead of trying a drop down toolbar button for styles, how about using a new menu (named styles, for example). The "named style" would actually be a macro that applied the style from the firm.dot, to the current paragraph (which effectively copies the style from a template to a document). The menu could be saved in firm.dot, & would appear on the menu bar, & would look just as if it were saved in the normal template.

    Whenever, the styles were changed, users could apply the new styles. Note, that this would not change the format of styles that were already in an existing document. The only way to do that, would be to have the "automatically update document styles" in the Format/Styles/Modify dialog box checked AND the documents must be based on the firm.dot template.

    Generally speaking, it is NOT a good idea to update such styles automatically. For example, if a document contains tables based on TNR font & you change the template style to Garamond, then updating whatever style was used can drastically change the appearance of the tables & the pagination in the document.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    250
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Styles Problem

    How about changing Word's FileNew with a procedure called FileNew that actually creates a new document based on a workgroup template that contains your styles

    This procedure would sit on Firm.dot

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,049
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 119 Times in 116 Posts

    Re: Styles Problem

    Hi,

    #1 Styles from global templates are not generally available in documents. Styles in Normal.dot are available. Styles in the attached templates are available.

    #2 You can get around this by formatting autotext entries in your global in the various styles and calling those entries from your document (possibly in an autonew macro in your attached template). This works the same as if you had pasted formatted text into your document. That is, styles new to the document will be copied, styles already in the document will not be modified. You can go one further and record a macro using the organizer that copies the styles.

    For more on templates see
    http://www.addbalance.com/usersguide/templates.htm

    For more on styles see
    http://www.addbalance.com/usersguide/styles.htm
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •