Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Greenville, Texas, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    hotmail/photoshop 6 (Making hotmail and photoshop elements 6 work)

    New to forum. Computer knowledge limited which is the problem. I want folks to know I have searched, bought 3 books including windows for dummies, checked with adobe photoshop support, microsoft, support, my internet provider, knowledgeable computer people,hired a guy to come to the house and we worked on it, think his solution would have worked but my internet provider sabatoge his solution, photoshop elements 6 book, searched this forum as well as others without a clear answer to my problem. My thought is that the solution is so simple that it is embarrassing to ask you guys. I even googled it without success which tends to make me think everyone else in the world can figure it out but me!!!!
    Windows Vista, HP unit, dowloaded photoshop 6 and everything seems to function just fine. The problem starts when I select " SHARE" within photoshop 6, choose my pictures, they are jpeg, attached, msg. typed etc. and hit send. Window comes up asking how you want your name to be displayed then another about your email address then, a Msg. comes up Microsoft no longer support hotmail etc. Do I have to change email providers for this part of photoshop 6 to function. I have looked at gmail etc. What does it take to make this work with MS /hotmail or other email providers?? It has been a really frustrating 3 weeks seeking this answer . I don't want to be moving files/folders around to send a picture . I like photoshop 6 program. Can someone explain the steps I should take. Grateful.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: hotmail/photoshop 6 (Making hotmail and photoshop elements 6 work)

    Check out Sharing photos by e‑mail

    But they only list the following
    Set e‑mail preferences
    Do one of the following:
    In the Photo Browser or Date view, choose Edit > Preferences > Sharing.

    In Full Edit or Quick Fix, choose Edit > Preferences > Organize & Share, and then select Sharing on the left side of the Preferences dialog box.

    From the E‑Mail Client menu, choose one of the following, and then click OK:
    Microsoft Outlook® to choose the application as the default.

    Outlook Express® to choose the application as the default.

    Adobe E‑mail Service if you do not use Outlook or Outlook Express, but want to be able to e‑mail directly to recipients from Photoshop Elements.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Greenville, Texas, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: hotmail/photoshop 6 (Making hotmail and photoshop elements 6 work)

    DaveA will give it a try tonight. If it works out You will need a halo around your head! <img src=/S/bravo.gif border=0 alt=bravo width=16 height=30>

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Greenville, Texas, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: hotmail/photoshop 6 (Making hotmail and photoshop elements 6 work)

    Dave A checked it out last night and think this is what I have been searching for. I have not sat down and entered the data as yet because of a young college age daughter who was hogging the computer last night. Stated she was doing homework, Okay, I will buy that this time!!! It looks as though I will be chaning email providers to get the job accomplished but so be it. I really appreciate you pointing me in the correct direction.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Greenville, Texas, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: hotmail/photoshop 6 (Making hotmail and photoshop elements 6 work)

    The saga continues. Having thought all along that I, Vista, and PS6 were getting things accomplished to utilze the email program via PS6 has all been for nought. Following the instructions as provided by the Adobe site I immediately ran into obstacles. Couldn't cut and paste a verification number for Adobe mail etc. Many moons ago thought I had configuered my email account since I had sat down and entered etc. The computer seemed to have accepted etc. It's been lying. Even though it seems to have done it's thing, i.e. serial number registration to adobe etc. it has not. I had read on this forum problems with multiple screens popping up while trying to make the programs work etc. Many have seen the same screens with Vista. Phoncon to Adobe, Portland,Or. nice fellow. Before I got 5 words out he said stop, Vista!! Had to register via phone to get a adobe ID, then registered the serial number of PS6 etc. I'm not even close to the computer novice level yet but he explained that Vista has new security features that were added which as I understood is probably the crux of the problems. He gave a brief description of a " user's account and system administrator account "which I'm not sure I still fully understand, regardless he had me hit the start button, (now called a Pearl by them) go to AdobePS6 and RIGHT CLICK, not left, a window popped up and RIGHT CLICK on that, a few window panes flashed rapidly and now it seems to work as it should. I guess I am the system administrator vs vista's security program??? He stated that the this is something they had learned about Vista, not sure what he meant . Will go back and re-configure email accounts etc. and hopefully it will work. Would someone give me some insight on what happened, user account vs. system administrator ??

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: hotmail/photoshop 6 (Making hotmail and photoshop elements 6 work)

    So what you are saying is that PS6 is NOT Vista ready.
    I had not thought about this as I am still running PS Elements 4, and it worked during Vista Beta.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Greenville, Texas, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: hotmail/photoshop 6 (Making hotmail and photoshop elements 6 work)

    I don't think it is vista ready because of the new security features however my PS6 states for windows vista. My limited knowledge makes me think that Vista security program was blocking any attempt by me to make it function with other programs. If I just utilize the organizer etc. and stayed withing PS6 it seemed okay with the occasional screen blip proclaiming " error" or whatever. What Adobe folks had me do last night seemed to make it function much better and thus far no more aberrant warnings. Summary, guess without going through that process a user bumps up against vista's new security program thus thwarting my/your attempts to make it function properly. Over the weekend will try to load up my email settings etc. and see if it works. I do appreciate your help.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Greenville, Texas, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: hotmail/photoshop 6 (Making hotmail and photoshop elements 6 work)

    Just some follow-up. I worked on this problem for several more hours without resolution. I'm like most of American's, turn the key and go, if it breaks find someone to fix it. Really had no intention of learning about computers per'se. Thats changed. I could not believe how difficult it has been to find out ones incoming and outgoing server's data from their ISP. You can google etc. and see many articles on the subject including step by step instructions on how to do it but not any clear cut directions on just how to find that info. Called the local satillite provider,no help, call Wildblue, just so happens for our part of the world Wildblue and Dish network satillites etc. have a partnership. Wouldn't you know after going through the computer answering service for 10 mins and getting a human Wild Blue said that is not one of their duties, so shuffled off to Dish, go through the same junk but got a really nice fellow . We worked for appx. 90mins with no results. Said I needed to register with dishmail.net. I thought jeez, I have hotmail, gmail, now dishmail, etc. but I went along. Finally got the numbers for server's. We went through the paces setting it up, wouldn't work on my end but fine on his, go figure. Finally gave up and thanked him, he did try. I rested and gave it more thought decided to work with PS6 since I had new pictures. Tried the email service one more time, screens coming up all over the place to login for gmail, which I did, was told instantly wrong password etc., which it was not. Didn't work, However, there is a second mail service called photomail, Had it do it's thing and hit send, screens flash and no warnings etc. HUmmmm, where did that one go to, perhaps the Chinese Embassy! Tried two more same thing, acted like it was mailed to the recepients etc. Since I have zero faith in windows vista program etc. I nosed around, opened windows mail, aka outlook and there set 7 emails. I emailed myself, hell, thats an improvement to say the least. Don't fully understand how it happened but in my limited knowledge thought perhaps it was how the blasted thing operated. So I hit send which caused all kinds of screens to pop up. Error's etc. log in to gmail etc. nothing work. I supsect vista's security creating these miscues. I'm feeling better, I at least emailed myself. I plan on going back and checking the configurations of window's mail. It crossed my mine that PS6 and windows mail may have their own sets of incoming and outgoing servers that utilize the same numbers. The saga will continue or else a one year old system will eventually meet it's demise and will look at MAC etc. I checked all the service pacs and updates etc. and looks like windows vista has been completely re-written since it's release and my system has " swallowed the pill". I'm all ears if you have any thoughts.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •