Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Firefox print selection (Firefox 3)

    FF 3 is really nice. However, "print selection" is problematic. There were bugs in this that persisted
    for ages in FF 2, but what happens in FF3 is that I get the top line of the webpage (address and title)
    and nothing else. This is how it is even in safe mode, so it's not a matter of extensions. Surprising!
    If anyone uses print selection heavily, as I do, you might start thinking of workarounds.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox print selection (Firefox 3)

    Well, I guess it's still a beta product, right? What is "print selection" and where do you find it? I don't see it on my print menu anywhere...

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox print selection (Firefox 3)

    Two things:
    a) This bug has been around for at least a month, it turns out. I've confirmed it at Bugzilla,
    where there's already a bug report and thread.
    "Print Selection" has been around for ages. When you select a part of a webpage, eg,
    by dragging the mouse pointer over it, and then do Print (ctrl-p or File>Print), there's a bullet
    choice of "All", or "pages from N1 to N2", or "Selection". Very handy. I use it a lot,
    and it is a fixture in FF, in IE, and in Opera (and probably in other browsers.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Firefox print selection (Firefox 3)

    Another workaround: Print Selection in Firefox (all?) Crop4Print 0.5 bookmarklet.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox print selection (Firefox 3)

    Sounds good, thanks, but it needs updating for FF3: I can't find the "New Bookmark button" mentioned in step 2.
    (And I'm still generally disoriented in FF3.)
    ======= edited later to add: ===
    I stumbled around and added one item that is only visible in the "Organize Bookmarks" window, but I also got another item into bookmarks,
    with the javascript in the proper place. However, clicking on it just leads to "Netrocket" (www dot netrocket dot com), rather than whiting out
    everything but the selected part of the page. Yipes!
    ========= later: =============>> Part of the explanation: Instead of pasting the javascript into "location", I seem to have pasted it into
    "description". And the "location" is simply http://bookmarks/ , so I'm sorry and hope I haven't caused confusion. I still don't understand
    what this has to do with "Netrocket", but clearly I was more lost than I knew. So, emphatically, my bad results have nothing to do with the script.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox print selection (Firefox 3)

    Thanks, Jefferson! The magic bookmark works.
    (For the record, I clicked the Bookmarks menu, then right-clicked a location I liked,
    near the top, and chose "new bookmark", and then continued with Jefferson's instructions,
    just furnishing a name, and the script as a "location".)

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Firefox print selection (Firefox 3)

    The directions in that post were an early effort... I now suggest creating new bookmarklets by right-clicking the Bookmarks toolbar. After filling in the info and testing, I suggest moving them to a folder on the toolbar (mine is named 'lets so it's compact as possible) for easier access.

    Does Fx3 have a Bookmarks toolbar? When I get around to installing Fx3, I will have to remember to update all my old posts. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox print selection (Firefox 3)

    Good ideas. Yes, FF3 has a bookmarks toolbar, just like FF2. But one of the major changes in the interface,
    including interfacing with the user, is the great enrichment in how the bookmarks (and last places visited) function.
    So there are "most visited", "recently visited", etc., items sitting or popping up in various places and ways.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •