Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Router troubles

  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Router troubles

    I had my network equipment plugged into a battery backup but apparently I had a surge come in over the Internet cable. I lost the modem and now I believe maybe the router was affected as well but opinions are appreciated.

    I traded the defunct modem in today and received an identical model from my ISP. I figured all I would need to do is plug it in, let it go through the motions of lighting all its signal lights, then plug in the router, next the computers and I should be good to go. When I plug in my router and then a PC, the PC activity light on the modem doesn't flash but if I plug a computer directly to the modem, I get PC activity signal and connection to the Internet without a problem. I've tried different ports for the PCs and different cables but I've not had any success.

    I've also turned off the firewall to take it out of the equation.

    The router does recognize the PCs but it won't let me upgrade it to the current firmware to bring it back up to date. I log into the 192.168.1.1 webpage but I cannot enter any information because the page keeps flashing and reloading.

    I've about decided the router is toast? Agree or disagree? I will appreciate a judgment on this puzzling piece of hardware.

    Thanks!


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Router troubles

    A quick response would be that the router is made it's last route! <img src=/S/fire.gif border=0 alt=fire width=15 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Router troubles

    It is very possible that your router has a problem. The one thing you might try before you give up on it is to change your start up sequence slightly. Power off modem, router and computer. Wire your internet cable to modem, wire your modem to the router, wire the router to the computer. Then plug in (turn on) the units in the order you have previously used waiting a bit for each to connect - modem, then router, then the computer. See if that gives you a stable page when you type your IP address into your browser. Good luck!

    Paul

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Router troubles

    I like Paul's idea, but why not start with hooking up ONE computer directly to the modem and verify the modem works ? If this works, verify the settings on the modem THEN try putting the router inline <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Scott

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Router troubles

    I think she's done that one.
    <hr>...if I plug a computer directly to the modem, I get PC activity signal and connection to the Internet without a problem... <hr>

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Router troubles

    Oops .
    <hr>but if I plug a computer directly to the modem, I get PC activity signal and connection to the Internet without a problem.<hr>

    Should have read more carefully <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>
    Scott

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Router troubles

    I think I've given this router my best shot and I have now declared it to be a piece of junk - thanks to the lightning storm. I had it plugged into my back up but that doesn't protect it from any surges coming in over the cable line. Is there any equipment back up that is affordable that would protect the home user from lightning coming in on cable lines? It would have to be a backup with a special port for the cable wire and then the backup would have to allow for the modem to be connected from it to the computer/router, etc. I haven't seen anything that does this? Maybe I am not looking in the right places. How do others protect their equipment from damage caused in this manner?

    Thanks to all who have responded to my router question! I appreciate the tech support! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Router troubles

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by IMNetUser on 18-Jun-08 18:54. Correct spelling and re-size/downsize image.)</P>There are UPS that provide surge protection as well as Cable Modem protection.

    I have one for a close family friend from APC - APC BE750G and has a 3 year repair / replace Warranty. This also has outlets to protect phone line, DSL and/or Phone Modem (Picture Below).

    However, you can Google ups cable modem protection for an assortment of hits for other brands.

    HTH
    Scott

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Router troubles

    Hi Scott

    I've downloaded the manual to this UPS and I'll check it out. It looks promising. I have APC equipment in good working order but the one item is old enough that it could probably be replaced. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> I really would like to avoid down time and ruined equipment if I can, even though the modem belongs to the ISP. Losing connection for several days isn't worth the hassle.

    Thanks!


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Router troubles

    Your Welcome.

    I tend to be a big believer of UPS's. I also put them on my TV's and Satelite receiver and Directv box. I even learned to put a UPS on the Stero equipment when i upgraded to a new receiver and "Disc Jukebox".

    I live in an area where the power is "Dirty" and fluctuates a lot. I got tired of having to resetting equipment because the local power company is "Upgrading" equipment,five years and counting ... <img src=/S/drop.gif border=0 alt=drop width=23 height=23>
    Scott

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Router troubles

    Hi Scott

    Yep, we also have other "appliances" under backup protection because our electrical service can be flaky.

    Have a good day! <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Router troubles UPDATE on UPS

    Hi Scott

    I have completed hooking up my new UPS - an ES750 from APC. I opted for this model since it does protect the internet cable, etc. and it has plenty of outlets available. I was able to upgrade from my old UPS so that made it even nicer for me.

    Next will be a router.............. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Thanks for your post pointing me to the newer product! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Router troubles UPDATE on UPS

    You are welcome - I hope everything works out OK !
    Scott

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •