Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Dropdown is empty (Access 2003)

    My IT Dept just installed Office Service Pack3 on one machine.

    Since then, on one form,one of the dropdowns (which has worked forever on this machine) now is "empty". I checked
    all links and tables and everything looks fine. The dropdown is populated on everyone else's machine.

    Is there a known issue regarding this and is there a fix?

    Thanks!

    michael

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Dropdown is empty (Access 2003)

    Yes, that's a known issue. To repair this, download and install the Access 2003 post-Service Pack 3 hotfix package: December 18, 2007.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dropdown is empty (Access 2003)

    Once again, Thanks Hans !!!!

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dropdown is empty (Access 2003)

    OK- the patch fixed that issue - Now I have a new issue that I am hoping has a fix too.

    After they installed the Sevice pack3 & the patch, when I try to run an Append Query, the first table (alphabetically) is not offered !
    This is across every database. I have compacted/repaired - doesn't help.

    Is this, too, a known issue? This is very frustrating <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23>

    Thanks for any insight.

    Michael

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Dropdown is empty (Access 2003)


  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dropdown is empty (Access 2003)

    Thanks Hans.

    Just for the record I do try to search the MSKB before posting here,but apparently I don't use the
    correct key words.

    Any tips for better searching?

    Michael

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Dropdown is empty (Access 2003)

    I usually use Google - it often finds MSKB articles that the MSKB itself cannot find using the same keywords. I did the following search in Google:

    access 2003 sp3 append query site:support.microsoft.com

    The hotfix was the 3rd result.

    (To be fair: a search for append query in Access 2003 in the MSKB also returns the hotfix, but as the 9th result)

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dropdown is empty (Access 2003)

    Thanks Hans.

    I can't wait for our department to upgrade to Access 2007 - what fun that's going to be !!

    Michael

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •