Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    784
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Norton Antivirus

    Dear Loungers,

    Norton Live Update runs every morning when I turn on my laptop. Personally, I think that’s a bit excessive. Can anyone tell me how to set it up so it only runs Live Update once a week?

    Regards,

    JMT

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton Antivirus

    I don't have Norton AntiVirus on the computer anymore, but you should be able to access Live Update in the Control Panel.

    Click Start -> Control Panel -> Symantec LiveUpdate. The LiveUpdate Confirguration box should let you customizethe settings for LiveUpdate.

    An alternative, open Norton by double clicking on the Antivirus shield in system tray, click on Options.

    Note, the above is based on memory using Norton AntiVirus 2005 and 2006.
    Scott

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton Antivirus

    If my <post#=717080>post 717080</post#> did not help, i found a reference on Symantec's Website How to enable (or disable) Automatic LiveUpdate. The site provides instructions for Norton 2006 and earlier as well as Norton 2007.

    HTH
    Scott

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Whitehaven, Cumbria, United Kingdom
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton Antivirus

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by aekyall on 21-Jun-08 00:40. to correct NIS version number)</P>Hi JMT,
    I have NIS 2008. To turn off automatic live updates in NIS you need to do following:
    1. Open NIS
    2. Select 'settings'
    3. Click on 'automatic live update'
    4. from the drop-down menu, select 'configure'
    5. from the displayed menu, remove the 'tick' from the 'turn on automatic live updates option.
    6. apply/ok out

    You then have to remember to manually action all update requests.

    Hope this is of use.
    Regards,
    Keith

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Norton Antivirus

    During bad outbreaks, AV may be updated multiple times in a single day. I think 3-4 updates a week should be a minimum.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    784
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton Antivirus

    Dear Keith,

    Your instruction show how to fully disable LiveUpdate. Is there a way to reduce the frequency with which LiveUpdate runs? My computer currently asks me at least once per day whether I want to run it (on some days, the LiveUpdate message appears everytime I connect to the Internet and I keep on selecting “no”)?

    Also, what did you mean by, “You then have to remember to manually action all update requests.”

    Regards,

    JMT

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Norton Antivirus

    If you follow the instructions to disable LiveUpdate, you will then have to check for updates manually and thus must remember to check for them or you will not have the latest protection. As Jefferson stated, you should be updating, or at least checking for updates, 3-4 times per week at a minimum.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Norton Antivirus

    I suspect LiveUpdate can be set to retrieve and install updates automatically, without telling you, if you prefer that. However, I didn't find the right manual on Symantec.com so I can't help with the dialogs.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Norton Antivirus

    Older versions of Norton AntiVirus let you specify how often LiveUpdate should run, if I remember correctly, but with recent versions, you can only turn Automatic LiveUpdate on or off.

    If it's off, you can still run it manually: Start | (All) Programs | Norton AntiVirus | LiveUpdate. You should do this frequently - you wouldn't want your PC to be vulnerable to new threats for long.

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Whitehaven, Cumbria, United Kingdom
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton Antivirus

    Hi JMT,
    I'm not aware of any facility within NIS that will allow you to reduce the frequency of prompts but still keep live update switched on. All I'm aware of is either it's on or it's off - no inbetween I'm afraid. I have mine permanently switched to 'off' and then I run live update manually once per day. It soon becomes second nature - I have broadband but don't leave my computer connected unless I'm using it, so I usually run live update straight after connecting, whatever time of day that might be.
    Regards,
    Keith

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton Antivirus

    Although I suspect you are correct, I always deactivated the automatic updates and ran them manually through the scheduler.

    From Microsoft help, here are the steps:

    To schedule a new task:
    Open Scheduled Tasks.
    Double-click Add Scheduled Task.
    Follow the instructions in the Scheduled Task Wizard.

    Notes:
    o To open Scheduled Tasks, click Start, click All Programs, point to Accessories, point to System Tools, and then click Scheduled Tasks.
    o If you want to configure advanced settings for the task, select the Open advanced properties for this task when I click Finish check box on the final page of the wizard.
    o Confirm that the system date and time on your computer are accurate, because Scheduled Tasks relies on this information to run scheduled tasks. To verify or change this information, double-click the time indicator on the taskbar.
    o If you leave the password blank and you want the task to run when you are logged on, open the task. On the Task tab, select the Run only if logged on check box. The task will run at its scheduled time when the user who created the task is logged on to the computer.
    Scott

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton Antivirus

    Not exactly relevant to your concern with Norton, but every day my Avast anti-virus provides an update to the virus data base. Today, there were two updates. A brief daily popup/download is more preferred for protection than a weekly notification might provide.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Norton Antivirus

    I use F-Protect on most of our machines, and it has been known to have several updates in one day.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    784
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton Antivirus

    Dear Scott,

    I went to schedule a new task on Windows Vista, but what do I put for “Program/Script”? Do I put anything for “Add arguments”? “Start in”?

    Regards,

    JMT

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •