Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Spybot errors (XP Prof SP2)

    Hi. When trying to update Spybot, for the first time ever, some of the elements failed and showed as being in error. Please see attachment and advise as to what may be the cause and how to rectify it. Many thanks S Fox
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Spybot errors (XP Prof SP2)

    Jerry

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Spybot errors (XP Prof SP2)

    When you click Update, you should get a list of mirrors (servers) from which you can download the updates. Try selecting a different one than the default choice. I usually use Safer Networking #1, it has the fewest problems in my experience.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Spybot errors (XP Prof SP2)

    Thank you very much gentlemen, just on my way out so will follow your advice ASAP. Just thought I would reply immediately in case I forget..... hate the thought of not responding with a thank you for the great , precise & often instant assistance you all give to fumblers like me. Regards S Fox
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Whitehaven, Cumbria, United Kingdom
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Spybot errors (XP Prof SP2)

    As Hans says, select a different mirror from the list. That always works for me when I occasionally get a back checksum error.
    Regards,
    Keith

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Spybot errors (XP Prof SP2)

    Thanks all for your help, most appreciated. Followed the advice and the download went without a hitch.
    ps I notice no-one has responded to my post # 716720, I sure would like to know if the pictures can be unblocked
    using a keyboard short cut. Regards..... S Fox.
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Spybot errors (XP Prof SP2)

    "I notice no-one has responded to my post # 716720, I sure would like to know if the pictures can be unblocked
    using a keyboard short cut."

    Is this a BIG problem? I'm not sure which email program you are referring to, but in any case, this is a ONE TIME setting. Once you allow pictures, pictures are allowed forever until you block them again. For a single setting, this hardly seems worth the effort to determine whether it can be done via a few mouse clicks or a few keyboard strokes (or am I totally misunderstanding your question???). <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Spybot errors (XP Prof SP2)

    I know of NO way to get access to the type of bar other than by mouse. It is the same one when activeX is wanted and a few others.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Spybot errors (XP Prof SP2)

    Ok Friends, this is of course not a big deal but I simply [as mentioned before in some of my posts] am on a mission to minimize the use of the mouse. It's just that I get quite a lot of email newsletters etc. which have the pictures blocked this way & wondered if they could be opened without clicking the bar with the mouse. What has always puzzled me somewhat is how the sender of such an email can identify the recipient computer if the pictures are not blocked. Regards anyway guys. SF
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Spybot errors (XP Prof SP2)

    The blocking is being done on YOUR computer NOT the senders.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Spybot errors (XP Prof SP2)

    Hello DaveA. Yes I am aware that it is MY computer that is blocking the pictures but (as I said) the gist of the message is that the pictures have been blocked to prevent the sender from identifying my computer, that is what puzzles me, how can my computer [if allowing such pictures through] allow the sender to identify my computer?
    I appreciate it is not an issue that warrants a lengthy thread but the main question remains the first one asked & I am sorry for introducing a different question to the original post. Thanks again Guys, I find this site so convenient when groping around in the fog. S Fox.
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Spybot errors (XP Prof SP2)

    I thought the issue was that the pictures are not in the email, and the email has to "phone home" to get the pictures. (Which is why you sometimes get an email with pictures that won't display because the sender's site is down.) A number of sites explain why blocking images can be a good idea, for instance http://email.about.com/od/outlookexp...t/et112204.htm .

    Ian

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Spybot errors (XP Prof SP2)

    As Ian Wilson explained, the issue is pictures that are not included in the e-mail itself, but that are merely links to pictures on the sender's server. If you tell Outlook Express to display such pictures, it will contact the server to download the pictures, thereby confirming your existence and revealing your IP address. This is not a problem with legitimate newsletters, of course, but spammers use this method too. That's why Outlook Express blocks linked pictures, and why it wouldn't be a good idea to unblock them totally, although that is possible (see Images are blocked when you open an e-mail message in Outlook Express on a Windows XP Service Pack 2-based computer).

  14. #14
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Spybot errors (XP Prof SP2)

    One might argue that whether you retrieve the images or not means little to most spammers. It must be cheaper to send hundreds of extra messages to nonexistent addresses than to make even one manual list update. <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Spybot errors (XP Prof SP2)

    Thanks to one and all for your most helpful explanations. The entire matter now makes sense when I learn that the actual pictures are NOT with the email, sorry being unaware of that fact, it also explains why when I occasionally forward such emails to friends, they sometimes reply to say there were no pictures with them. Cheers guys for yet again enabling me to tick another box on the learning curve scale. Kind regards S Fox.
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •