Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Form's Combo Box and Record Mismatch (2003 (11.8204.8202) SP3)

    Attached is a screen shot of a lookup table and a form. At the bottom of the form is where we would put in the number of the employee causing the combo box at the top of the form to populate w/ the employee's name associated w/ that number. However, for whatever reason this is now only working properly for employees 1-6. When I input employee #7 at the bottom it populates the combo box w/ the employee's name associated w/ #19. When I input employee #8 the name for employee # 7 populates. When I input #9 the name for employee #8 populates and so on.

    Any ideas on how to fix this? Thanks!!
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Form's Combo Box and Record Mismatch (2003 (11.8204.8202) SP3)

    The number in the record navigation bar at the bottom of the form is simply a sequence number, it doesn't (necessarily) correspond to any field in the table. If there are 19 records, the number at the bottom will be 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19 regardless of the values of EmployeeID or any other field.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Form's Combo Box and Record Mismatch (2003 (11.8204.8202) SP3)

    This is supposed to be the main form which is how I select which employee I want to enter visits for. And, the subform is used to enter the visits for the employee.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Form's Combo Box and Record Mismatch (2003 (11.8204.8202) SP3)

    Yes, so what?

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Form's Combo Box and Record Mismatch (2003 (11.8204.8202) SP3)

    Then how do I select which employee that I want to work with - select from the combo box at the top of my form? If so, then obviously I don't have something set up quite right for when I attempt to select the employee name from the combo box I get the error message "Control can't be edited; it's bound to AutoNumber field 'EmployeeID"

    Thanks!!.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Form's Combo Box and Record Mismatch (2003 (11.8204.8202) SP3)

    The combo box should be unbound, i.e. its Control Source should be blank.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Form's Combo Box and Record Mismatch (2003 (11.8204.8202) SP3)

    Is there any reason to have a navigation bar at the bottom of the form since the combo box is what should be used? Can / should I hide the navigation bar for the main form?

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Form's Combo Box and Record Mismatch (2003 (11.8204.8202) SP3)

    The navigation bar at the bottom lets the user go to the first / previous / next / last record and to a new record without you having to provide your own buttons for that. If your users don't need that, you can hide the bar by setting the Navigation Buttons property of the form to No.

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Form's Combo Box and Record Mismatch (2003 (11.8204.8202) SP3)

    If the Employee name is being selected from the combo box then I don't see where the navigation bar serves a purpose on the main form. Thanks for your help!!!

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Form's Combo Box and Record Mismatch (2003 (11.8204.8202) SP3)

    Edited by HansV to replace PDF attachment with the screenshot it contained

    I have made the combo box unbound and I remove the navigation bar from the main form. When I tried to select a name from the combo I received the attached message to enter a parameter value. I don't see what would trigger this? Thanks for any directions!!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.png (7.0 KB, 0 views)

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Form's Combo Box and Record Mismatch (2003 (11.8204.8202) SP3)

    The easiest way to solve this is to delete the combo box and create it anew with Control Wizards turned on.

  12. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Form's Combo Box and Record Mismatch (2003 (11.8204.8202) SP3)

    It seems easiest for you to say than a novice like to do.

    In form design view I deleted the current combo box. In my toolbox I turned on the Wizard Controls; selected combo box and placed on my form; indicated that "I want the combo box to look up the values in a table or query"; selected my tblEmployee (containing EmployeeId and Employee fields); indicated the Employee field to be included in my combo box; selected ascending sort order on Employee; indicated for the wizard to store that value in the Employee field.

    I left the Control Source blank as previously suggested. However, I am still getting an Enter Parameter Value message.

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Form's Combo Box and Record Mismatch (2003 (11.8204.8202) SP3)

    Could you post a stripped down copy of your database? See <post#=401925>post 401925</post#> for instructions.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •